Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


8 / 51 states. 16% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


11 / 50 books. 22% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 50 books. 44% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 52 books. 37% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


10 / 26.2 miles. 38% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


10 / 100 books. 10% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 104 books. 22% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 52 books. 42% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 165 books. 13% done!
Saturday, December 29, 2018

Empathetic, Hopeful Historical A Memorable Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Struggling journalist Ellis Reed is in desperate need of a juicy story to propel him out of the society pages into the more prestigious world of investigative reporting.  When he happens upon an arresting sight—two kids sitting on a sagging porch in rural Pennsylvania beside a sign reading "Two Children for Sale"—he snaps a photograph.  It's a heart-wrenching scene that says volumes about the struggles people all over the country are facing in the midst of the Great Depression.  Ellis never intends to publish the picture, but when it is inadvertently shown to his editor, the man in charge sees a golden opportunity.  After the original image is accidentally destroyed, Ellis is sent to get another, which leads to a staged photograph and the subsequent destruction of an innocent family.  As the situation grows increasingly out of control, Ellis is haunted by what he's done.  He can't tell the truth without ruining his now successful career, but he can't live with himself if he doesn't. 

Equally horrified by her role in the situation, Lillian Palmer vows to help Ellis reunite a family torn apart by lies and besieged by unwanted public attention.  Risking her own position at the newspaper, she has to decide how far she's willing to go for redemption and for her developing relationship with Ellis.  Can Lillian and Ellis put to rights a situation that gets more complicated every day?  Or have they doomed themselves and a guiltless family to a lifetime of sorrow and remorse? 

With a haunting premise and a compelling plot, Sold on a Monday by Kristina McMorris is an evocative novel about the sometimes long-reaching consequences of one split-second decision.  Peopled with flawed, but authentic characters, it tells an empathetic story that highlights the abject desperation that characterized a devastating period in American history.  Although this is a sad story, it's also a hopeful one.  Sold on a Monday kept me reading, hoping, and yearning for a happy ending.  I enjoyed it immensely.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. Oh good, I received this for Christmas!!! It looks great and after skimming your review (to not know tooo much!) I am ready to crack it open!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Amazing how one action affects the lives of so many and has great consequences. This sounds good.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive