Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (11)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 53 books. 91% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Monday, February 18, 2019

New Magic Treehouse-ish Series Offers Fun, Educational Adventures for Kids (with a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

George and Gracie know that their family's Stockton Museum of Just About Everything in American History holds some amazing artifacts.  What they don't realize, until one fateful night, is that one of those objects is actually a time machine.  The exact same contraption their parents used to get themselves stuck somewhere in history.  Now, it's up to George and Gracie to figure out when their folks are and how to unstick them so they can finally come home.

The kids have a solid plan to find their parents in history, but that scheme goes horribly awry when they find themselves in the middle of the Revolutionary War.  Even worse, Gracie has turned into a horse!  Things can't possibly get worse ... until they do.  Suddenly, the twins are smack-dab in the middle of a wild race to save not just their own skin and that of their parents, but also the fate of the entire country.  Will they be successful?  Or will history—and their family—be changed forever?

Are you the parent of a rabid Magic Treehouse fan?  Then, you should probably give the Just in Time series by Cheri Pray Earl and Carol Lynch Williams a go.  I'm not sure how many books of a projected 25 (one for each state) have already been penned, but I do know the series starts with The Rescue Begins in Delaware.  Like the Magic Treehouse books, this one involves a set of siblings, a time machine, and a host of based-on-a-true-story historical adventures.  The Rescue Begins in Delaware tells a fast, fun tale that gives young readers a little glimpse of history that is educational enough to teach them something but not so much that they will be bored with the lesson.  This installment starts with a bang and doesn't let up, which is good except that I felt like I was missing some background information that would have helped later events make more sense.  Based on the series opener, I would say the Just in Time series isn't quite up to Magic Treehouse snuff.  It should, however, give fans of the latter something entertaining and new to devour.


(Readalikes:  Reminds me of the Magic Treehouse series by Mary Pope Osbourne)

Grade:



If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-copy of The Rescue Begins in Delaware in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

-- 

Want more opinions of The Rescue Begins in Delaware?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by clicking the links below:

Feb 21: My Book a Day

Would you like to win a paperback copy (e-book for international winners) of The Rescue Begins in Delaware?  Enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good luck! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive