Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Friday, July 25, 2014

Leavitt's YA Vegas Romance a Little Thin

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Holly Nolan's beloved Grandpa Jim dies during bypass surgery, the 17-year-old is devastated.  She can't imagine how she's supposed to go on with her life, let alone her "part-time" job without his guidance.  For as long as she can remember, Holly's been as devoted to saving her grandfather's wedding chapel—a crumbling icon on the Las Vegas strip—as he always was.  Lately, it's been a losing battle.  Now that Jim's gone, Holly can't bear to see it close, or worse, get bought up by her grandpa's jerk of a business rival.  What will become of The Rose of Sharon Wedding Chapel now?

At the reading of her grandfather's will, Holly gets the shock of her life: she is the new owner of the wedding chapel.  She's been working there forever, sure, but she knows nothing about steering a failing business back into the black.  Or, does she?  As Holly pulls out all the stops to save the chapel she loves, she finds herself sacrificing everything—her sanity, her social life and, quite possibly, the love of her life (who just happens to be the grandson of her Jim's rival/mortal enemy).  The harder she battles to save The Rose of Sharon, the more she wonders if the fight is worthwhile.  Which will win out in the end—the chapel that symbolizes everything Holly loves about her past or Dax, the guy who just might hold the key to her bigger, brighter future?

The Chapel Wars, the newest offering from Lindsey Leavitt, gives readers everything they've come to expect from the popular YA author.  The quirky, upbeat story is filled with humor, romance and colorful characters.  A vibrant, unique setting, brought to life by a Las Vegas native, definitely adds to the novel's appeal.  As much as I enjoy a fun, breezy read, especially one written by Leavitt, this one disappointed me a little bit.  The plot felt thin and far-fetched.  Dax didn't strike me as all that likable—I get that he's hot, but he's got to have at least a little substance to make me want to root for him.  Speaking of substance, I think that's what was really missing in this one for me.  It was a little too breezy, you know?  All in all, the book kept me entertained, but in the end, it was just an okay read for me.  

(Readalikes:  The Romeo and Juliet/business rivals aspect of the story reminded me of Lisa McMann's Visions trilogy [Crash; Bang; Gasp], although the plots don't have a lot in common.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), sexual innuendo, and depictions of underage drinking/partying

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of The Chapel Wars from the generous folks at Bloomsbury via those at NetGalley.  Thank you!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive