Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (11)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 25 books. 76% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 53 books. 75% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


37 / 52 books. 71% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Saturday, December 29, 2018

Tense, Gritty Survival Story Is Hatchet for a New Generation

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Sequoiah "Jess" Cooper's mother dies in a car accident, the 16-year-old is sent to live with her father, a survivalist whom she hasn't seen in ten years.  Although he officially resides in Alaska, Carl Green really lives in a rustic cabin in a remote stretch of the Canadian wilderness.  There's no running water, no electricity, no cell phone coverage, no Internet, and no other people.  It's just the way Carl likes it.  Jess, on the other hand, feels like she's time traveled to the 1800s; she needs to find a way to beam herself back to civilization and the sooner, the better.  

Jess has only started getting to know her father when two men helicopter in, murder Carl, and set fire to his cabin.  A horrified Jess is left alone without food or shelter to fend for herself in a strange, hostile environment.  With no way to communicate with the outside world, she can't call in the authorities.  Knowing her father's killers will return, she has only one option—prepare herself.  With a frigid winter on the horizon, it will take all of Jess's skill just to stay alive.  But that's not her only goal.  She will bring her father's murderers to justice, even if it costs her her own life, which it probably will ...

I Am Still Alive, a debut YA novel by romance writer Kate Alice Marshall, tells a tense, gritty tale about one girl's determination to survive against all odds.  Jess is a tough, determined heroine, one for whom it's easy to root.  Her story is spare and grim, but it's also exciting and thoroughly engrossing.  I couldn't put it down.  If you like Hatchet-type stories, be sure to give this one a go.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of the Hatchet series by Gary Paulsen as well as other outdoor survival stories)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of I Am Still Alive from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

2 comments:

  1. I find outdoor survivalist stories so intriguing. This one sounds good and I'll bet it will do well with teenagers.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh, I think this one sounds very good and I loved Hatchet when I read it many years ago. I've just looked and my library has a e-book copy. Yay!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive