Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Tea Cooper's Newest My Favorite Kind of Hist Fic

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Fleur Richards barely has time to be a wife before she becomes a widow.  After a whirlwind courtship and a hasty, secret wedding to a handsome Australian soldier, she's shocked to hear that Hugh's been killed in the war.  Shaken by grief, she's even more stunned to learn that her humble husband was a wealthy man.  With no other family, Hugh's fortune goes to Fleur.  It hardly seems fair that she should inherit all Hugh's money when, really, she hardly knew him.  With nothing to keep her in England, Fleur decides to take the advice of her husband's solicitor and make her way to Australia.  Intent on passing the inheritance to someone more deserving, she determines to find Hugh's kin.

Part of Hugh's property is an abandoned curiosity shop in Sydney that unwittingly captures Fleur's imagination and heart.  As she studies its history, she's surprised to discover the place has a dark and mysterious past.  Before she can stop herself, Fleur finds herself caught up in its fascinating story.  It's a tale of romance, treasure, treachery, and intrigue ... and Fleur won't stop digging until she finds all the answers to the decades-old secret of a captivating, missing gem.

The Woman in the Green Dress by Australian author Tea Cooper is my favorite kind of historical fiction—clean, atmospheric, mysterious, and entertaining.  The setting is colorful and exotic, the characters likable (especially the irrepressible Bert) and interesting, the mystery compelling and engrossing.  True, I saw most of the plot twists coming.  Also true, I didn't care as I just found this novel absorbing and enjoyable.  The Woman in the Green Dress is my first book by Cooper, but it will definitely not be my last.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Woman in the Green Dress from the generous folks at Thomas Nelson via those at TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

--

Want more opinions on The Woman in the Green Dress?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by visiting the stops below:

Tuesday, June 16th: She Just Loves Books and @shejustlovesbooks
Wednesday, June 17th: Cheryl’s Book Nook
Thursday, June 18th: @meetmeinthestacks
Friday, June 19th: Reading Reality
Monday, June 22nd: Into the Hall of Books
Monday, June 22nd: Run Wright
Tuesday, June 23rd: Blooming With Books
Wednesday, June 24th: Living My Best Book Life and @livingmybestbooklife
Thursday, June 25th: From the TBR Pile
Monday, June 29th: Christian Chick’s Thoughts
Tuesday, June 30th: Beauty in the Binding and @beautyinthebinding
Wednesday, July 1st: Girl Who Reads
Thursday, July 2nd: Christian Bookshelf Reviews
Friday, July 3rd: @rendezvous_with_reading
Monday, July 6th: Buried Under Books
Thursday, July 9th: Pacific Northwest Bookworm and @pnwbookworm
Friday, July 10th: Read Eat Repeat and @readeatrepeat1
Friday, July 10th: @booktimistic
Monday, July 13th: @babygotbooks13
Tuesday, July 14th: Running Through the Storms
Wednesday, July 15th: Bloggin’ ‘Bout Books
Wednesday, July 15th: Sincerely Karen Jo
Thursday, July 16th: @lostinastack
Friday, July 17th: Wellreadtraveler and @wellreadtraveler
Friday, July 24th: Books Cooks Looks
Friday, July 24th: @bibliolau19
TBD: Monday, June 15th: Hallie Reads
TBD: Monday, July 6th: Drink. Read. Repeat and @drink.read.repeat
TBD: Tuesday, July 7th: Careyloves and @careylovestobook
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive