Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Tuesday, September 25, 2018

TTT: The Ones That Got Away

I don't know about you, but I have a hard time picking favorites.  Of almost anything.  Naturally, then, I have a lot of favorite authors.  A lot.  Between these many writers and my lengthy TBR pile mountain mountain chain, I don't get through as many books as I'd like to, even those penned by my most-loved authors.  This includes tons of series, which I love but tend to get stuck in the middle of. Today's Top Ten Tuesday is all about the ones that have gotten away, at least temporarily.

Before we get to that, though, I want to encourage you to join in the TTT fun.  It's easy peasey.  All you have to do is click on over to That Artsy Reader Girl, read few a few guidelines, make a list of your own, share it, then start visiting other blogs.  It's a great way to find new blogs, add great-looking reads to your own TBR mountain chain, and just spread the love around Ye Ole Book Blogosphere.  It's a good time, I promise!

Okay, here we go with Top Ten Books By My Favorite Authors That I Still Haven't Read (not including books in series—mostly):


1.  J.K. RowlingHarry Potter is one of my all-time favorite series, but I've never read any of the books by Rowling's alter ego, Robert Galbraith.  I've seen mixed reviews, so I haven't rushed to check them out.  I will though.  Eventually.


2.  Maeve BinchyI adore this Irish author who died in 2012.  I thought I'd read all her books except the last three:  Minding Frankie (2010), A Week in Winter (2012), and Chestnut Street (2014).  Turns out, she's also written a half dozen non-fiction books.  Who knew?


3.  Liane MoriartyWith the exception of Truly Madly Guilty, I've loved everything I've ever read by Moriarty.  There are a few on her backlist that I still need to get to: Three Wishes (2013), The Last Anniversary (2005), and The Hypnotist's Love Story (2012). She also has a children's series, but I'm not sure it's really my cup of tea, so I'll probably skip it.


4.  Jodi PicoultI've long been a Picoult fan, but I haven't read all her books yet.  What's missing?  Sing You Home (2011) and The Storyteller (2013), plus the two she wrote with her daughter, Samantha van Leer: Between the Lines (2012) and Off the Page (2015).


5.  Jacqueline Woodson—I love Woodson's books, but there are plenty I have yet to read by the newly-crowned National Ambassador for Young People's Literature.  I'm especially interested in Harbor Me (2018).  I also heard her read her newest picture book, The Day You Begin (2018), at the National Book Festival earlier this month and I'd love to re-read it.


6.  Rae CarsonI adore Carson's Gold Seer trilogy, but I have yet to give her Fire & Thorns series a go.


7.  Neal ShustermanWith the exception of Scythe, I've loved everything I've read by this prolific author.  He's tough to keep up with, though, so I have lots of catching up to do with him.  I'm not even sure where to start.  What's your favorite of his?


8.  Julia KellerI read every Bell Elkins book as soon as I can get my hands on it, but I haven't given Keller's newest series a try yet.  The Dark Intercept series has a futuristic/sci fi setup, which isn't my usual thing.  Still, I'm going to give it a whirl one of these days.


9.  Susan MeissnerMeissner's gentle dual-timeline novels are right up my alley.  I've read all of them from 2011 on.  The author's got a fairly extensive backlist, though, and I'm definitely planning to check it out.  I'm especially interested in The Shape of Mercy (2008), a novel about a college student whose studies of the Salem Witch Trials go a little too deep ...


10.  Emily CarpenterI just discovered this author and while I'm not sure I can call her a favorite yet, I have been enjoying her twisted psychological thrillers.  Her newest (which sounds amazing) doesn't come out until March 2019, so I have plenty of time to read the only one of hers I haven't delved into yet—Burying the Honeysuckle Girls (2016).  It's sitting on my Kindle, just waiting for me to open it up.

There you go, all (well, some) of the books I still need to read from some of my favorite authors.  Have you read any of them?  Where should I start?  How about you—which books are you missing from your favorite authors?  I'd love to know.  Leave me a comment and I'll gladly return the favor on your blog.

Happy Top Ten Tuesday!

LDS Hollywood Romance Upbeat and Real (with a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Evie Jennings eloped with her boyfriend two years ago, she thought she was making a fresh start with the man she loved.  Then he abandoned her, divorcing her through the mail.  Evie hasn't seen Q since their hurried nuptials.  Her friends and family urge her to move on, but to what?  It's humiliating enough to be a 24-year-old divorceé, let alone living with her parents and attending a Young Single Adult (YSA) ward.  She's enrolled at UCAL, but she's not even sure what she wants to be when she grows up.  Evie's confused—about past mistakes, present decisions, and what kind of future she could possibly have when she's so messed up and broken.

After receiving scathing reviews on his forthcoming movie, Hollywood golden boy Ridge Dashly is starting to worry about his future, too.  With his career on the line, he reluctantly agrees to an image re-boot, which includes enrolling at UCAL.  Surrounded by starry-eyed co-eds, Ridge longs for someone who can see past his Hollywood heartthrob image and appreciate his true self.  A chance encounter with Evie Jennings convinces him that she could be a true friend, if not a whole lot more.  Soon, the two are exchanging flirty texts, swapping secrets, and stirring up enough gossip in their singles ward that even the paparazzi takes notice.

Evie and Ridge both know that Hollywood romances are more about marketing than marriage, so why are they fooling themselves?  Drawn together despite all the obstacles standing in their way, can the two of them fight for a future together?  Or will their checkered pasts, tumultuous presents, and uncertain futures keep them apart forever?

It took me a minute to realize that Love Unscripted—Tiffany Odekirk's sophomore novel—is actually a companion novel to her debut, Love On Pointe.  It's not a sequel but a story concerning the same family, just a different member.  With Emmy Jennings' HEA on the horizon, it's her twin's turn to find love.  Although Evie's constant wallowing bugs, she's a sympathetic heroine and likeable enough that I wanted a happy ending for her as well.  Ridge is a little too perfect, but it's also easy to desire good things for him.  Their story has a fun premise, unoriginal and predictable though it may be.  The tale's got religious undertones, but it's not overly preachy or sappy which makes it an appealing read for anyone who enjoys clean, upbeat contemporary romance.  What I appreciate most about Odekirk is that she presents members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in a realistic way.  Her characters make mistakes, treat each other in ways that aren't always kind, have doubts, struggle with their testimonies, question their Church leaders ... in short, they reflect real LDS people.  Her story people—like IRL Mormons—are imperfect people striving to be better.  Overall, then, I enjoyed Love Unscripted and will certainly read Odekirk's next effort (which I'm hoping will concern the mysterious Drew Jennings).  

(Readalikes:  Love On Pointe by Tiffany Odekirk; also reminds me of contemporary romances by Melanie Jacobson [especially Perfect Set], Brittany Larsen, and Jenny Proctor)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for discussions of subjects (pornography, spousal abandonment, premarital sex, etc.) that may not be appropriate for readers under 12

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Love Unscripted from Covenant in exchange for an honest review to be posted during the book's blog tour.  Thank you!

--


Interested in more opinions of Love Unscripted?  Follow along on the blog tour by clicking the links below:

*Sept. 24thhttp://mybookaday.com/

Want to win a copy of Love Unscripted for your very own?  Or a $25 Amazon gift card?  How about both?  Enter to win this awesome prize using the Rafflecopter widget below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive