Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Friday, February 08, 2019

Military Romance a Solid, if Unoriginal, Series Opener

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

It's been five years since Noah Wilcox, a Navy SEAL serving in North Africa, was killed during a skirmish with local insurgents.  Still not quite sure how to move on after her husband's death, Harper is biding her time in her hometown of Kitty Hawk, North Carolina.  A freelance bookkeeper and mom to 5-year-old Ben, she's living with her mother and feeling stuck.  When Allison Teague—the wife of one of Noah's former SEAL brothers—reaches out for help in dealing with her husband's paralyzing PTSD, Harper jumps at the chance to not only aid a friend but also to do something meaningful for other military spouses.  As she comforts Allison, the women hatch a plan to open a string of coffee shops near military bases around the country.  

In the meantime, Harper's quest for purpose brings her face-to-face with Bennett Caldwell, another of Noah's SEAL brothers and the one he considered his best friend.  She's never met the man before, but her attraction to the brusque outdoorsman is almost instant.  Though shocked by her own interest, Harper can't suppress the urge to get to know Bennett better, even if their burgeoning relationship makes them both feel disloyal to Noah.  Can the two of them find their way together, despite past sorrows? 

With its plain Jane title, it's probably not surprising that The Military Wife by Laura Trentham is not the most original or memorable novel in the world.  It does, however, offer an empathetic look at military life as well as a sweet, second-chance romance between two sympathetic, likable characters.  Although the plot is predictable, there's enough going on in the story to keep it interesting.  As I mentioned, there's nothing terribly unique or surprising here, but The Military Wife is a solid, readable novel that's a little deeper than your typical romance.  I didn't love this series opener, but I liked it well enough.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Robyn Carr's small-town romance series [especially Virgin River] starring ex-military men and the women who love them.) 

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, sexual content, and some disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-copy of The Military Wife from the generous folks at St. Martin's Press in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
   
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive