Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


8 / 30 books. 27% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (1)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


12 / 51 states. 24% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 50 books. 18% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 50 books. 56% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 52 books. 46% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 40 books. 50% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


14 / 26.2 miles. 53% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 100 books. 13% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 104 books. 29% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 52 books. 54% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 165 books. 17% done!
Thursday, September 27, 2018

Kilpack's Newest Another Sweet, Uplifting Regency Romance

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

At 27, Julia Hollingsworth is an old maid, but at least she's a free one.  Although she's currently without a position, she's determined not to go back to living with her overbearing mother.  Julia may not have her own household, but she certainly has her own ideas about how she wants to live her life.  So, when a handsome widower hires her to watch his two young daughters, she jumps at the chance.  As the two bond over Peter's children as well as his canine husbandry business, they become much closer than any master and servant should be ...

Worried about her daughter being taken advantage of by a man who's way above her station, Amelia Hollingsworth will do anything to get her daughter away from Peter Mayfield.  Thirty years ago, the man's uncle broke Amelia's heart and she will not allow Julia to be hurt in the same way.  In an effort to save her daughter, Amelia confronts Elliott Mayfield, only to find that a lot has changed in the years they've been apart.  Is it possible that the family, including its patriarch, is not quite as untrustworthy it seems?

As the Hollingsworth women become entwined in the affairs of the Mayfield men, tempers flare, secrets are exposed, and romance blossoms.  Can Julia, Peter, Amelia, and Elliott untangle all the knots that complicate their lives in order to find unexpected happiness?  Or will they let their complicated pasts stand in the way of their promising futures? 

While Promises and Primroses, the newest proper romance from Josi S. Kilpack, doesn't offer a lot in the way of originality, it does tell a sweet, clean, uplifting story.  The characters are likable (even if the mother/daughter dual love story is a little odd), the story is interesting enough (though totally predictable), and the plot moves along swiftly (albeit a bit anticlimactically).  Kilpack's prose is solid and overall, Promises and Primroses makes for an enjoyable read.  Romance isn't my genre—occasionally, though, a light story with a guaranteed HEA like this one is just the ticket.  

(Readalikes:  Other Regency/proper romances by Josi S. Kilpack as well as those by Jennifer Moore and Sarah M. Eden)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild innuendo and subject matter most suitable for readers 12 and older

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Promises and Primroses from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!



Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive