Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 30 books. 20% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas (1)
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (2)
- Canada (1)
- England (3)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- South Korea (1)
- The Netherlands (1)
-Vietnam (1)

My Progress:


17 / 51 books. 33% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


24 / 50 books. 48% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 52 books. 58% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 40 books. 48% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


12 / 40 books. 30% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


18 / 25 books. 72% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 109 books. 38% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Innocence: I Didn't See That Coming

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Sometimes the jacket copy on a book is so succinct, so scintillating in its simplicity that it's absurd to try to rewrite it in my own clumsy way.  I'm not much for reinventing the wheel, so I give you the professionally-written plot summary for Innocence, Dean Koontz's newest mystical thriller:

He lives in solitude beneath the city, an exile from society, which will destroy him if he is ever seen.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   She dwells in seclusion, a fugitive from enemies who will do her harm if she is ever found.                                                                                                                                           But the bond between them runs deeper than the tragedies that have scarred their lives.  Something more than chance—and nothing less than destiny—has brought them together in a world whose hour of reckoning is fast approaching.

Lovely, right?  I think the text offers a perfect boiling-down of a novel that's actually very difficult to describe.  Like Koontz's popular Odd Thomas books, Innocence is a mix of mystery, mysticism and otherworldly suspense.  It's a strange tale, confusing at times, beautiful at others.  Overall, it held my interest while making me very curious to see just what made the main characters so repugnant to society.  The answer was one I really did not see coming.  At all.  I loved the big reveal—it surprised and delighted me, while making me ponder my own beliefs.  I didn't adore every aspect of this novel, but overall, I enjoyed it.  

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz)

Grade:  


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and adult subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Murder Off the Books by Tamara Berry

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country in the World by Sarah Smarsh



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive