Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


59 / 165 books. 36% done!
Friday, May 28, 2021

Much-Hyped The Sanitorium Less Satisfying Than Hoped For

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

High in the Swiss Alps sits Le Sommet, a just-opened luxury hotel with a minimalist approach that showcases the jaw-dropping views to perfection.  The place should exude a peaceful vibe, but despite extensive remodeling, the building still holds an unsettling feeling left over from its days as a tuberculosis hospital.  Whispers of unease whistle through Le Sommet's newly-painted halls, hinting at its dark past...

The last place Detective Elin Warner wants to be is on a remote mountaintop with her estranged brother, but without a good excuse to skip his engagement party, she really doesn't have a choice.  As the assistant manager of Le Sommet, Elin's sister-in-law is eager to show off the new hotel.  Despite Laure's enthusiasm, Elin feels completely unsettled by Le Sommet, with its strange history and cut-off location.  The onset of a winter storm doesn't help her feelings of claustrophobia and disquiet.  On leave following a traumatizing case, Elin is supposed to be resting.  Le Sommet should offer the perfect refuge for her.  So, why does she feel so discombobulated?

When Laure disappears suddenly, Elin is immediately on alert.  The assistant manager is not answering her phone and the weather has made travel nearly impossible.  Where could Laure possibly be?  When Elin finds the gruesome answer, a startling truth becomes terrifyingly clear: someone in the hotel (or very nearby) is a cold-blooded killer.  While Elin collects clues, another woman disappears.  With no way off the mountain, all the hotel guests are in danger unless Elin can find a murderer—a murderer who just may be her own brother.  Racing against time, she must put all her rusty detecting skills to use before it's too late for her and everyone else. 

Locked-room mysteries set in isolated places are my jam.  Throw in inclement weather and a creepy old building and you've got my attention, 100 percent.  The Sanatorium, a debut novel by Sarah Pearse, combines all of these elements to create a compelling novel, the kind I usually devour and love.  Did it fulfill all my thriller-loving dreams?  Well...     

The novel is very atmospheric, with an eerie vibe that helps to keep the reader feeling wrong-footed throughout the story. I appreciate that in a mystery/thriller since it keeps me on my toes, always wondering whom to trust, whom to suspect, and what's going to happen next. Plot-wise, there's plenty of action to keep the tale moving. Although I saw the killer coming, I wasn't absolutely sure until the last third or so of the book. While their identity wasn't a huge shock to me, there were some other twists that caught me by surprise. So, although The Sanatorium is almost 400 pages long, it never got boring for me (I have heard other readers describe it as slow, however).

That being said, the novel's cast is almost wholly unlikable. Elin is sympathetic, but even she isn't terribly appealing. Nor is she very convincing as a detective. Although I get that she's supposed to be suffering from PTSD and her skills are rusty after a year's hiatus, she still seems awfully slow on the uptake. I also had a hard time reconciling the killer with their crimes. Neither the murderer's personality nor their motive really seemed to explain the very gruesome nature of the killings. I also felt like there were a lot of inconsistencies in the background of this novel—the hotel guests all seem way too calm, for instance.  Even Elin just kind of takes the events in stride, which feels a tad bit unrealistic.  All these things kept me from loving The Sanatorium, which ended up being only an okay read for me.  The epilogue seems to hint that this will be the first book in a series.  Would I read a sequel?  I think I would, although I can't say I'm chomping at the bit. 

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Shiver by Allie Reynolds and One By One by Ruth Ware)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (1 F-bomb, plus milder invectives), violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of The Sanatorium with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive