Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, January 02, 2013

Bright, Timeless Children's Tale A Delight

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

As the scorching South Carolina summer blazes on, Stella is searching for something—anything—to do.  The long days would be way more exciting if she had a dog to play with, but she doesn't.  All she's got is boring ole Gerald Baxter.  Even though Stella's brimming with grand ideas for adventure, her best friend never wants to try them.  Stella's sick of sitting around playing Crazy Eights with Gerald, she wants to do something.  Something exciting. 

When Stella spots a one-legged pigeon flying through town, she knows this is it.  This is the something for which she's been waiting all summer.  Gerald's not all that enamored with the idea of catching the bird, but Stella won't back down this time.  She's determined to make it her pet, with or without his help.  It won't be easy, though.  Every kid in town—including Stella's rotten older brother—is trying to capture the one-legged pigeon.  Unbeknownst to them all, the bird's already got an owner and Mr. Mineo is desperate to have him back.  And what about Sherman?  The pigeon's got his own ideas about where he wants to go.  With all of Meadville, South Carolina on his tail, where—and with whom—will the one-legged pigeon end up?  

On the Road to Mr. Mineo's, the newest middle grade novel by Barbara O'Connor, is a sweet, timeless kind of story.  It's quick, bright and entertaining—not unlike Sherman himself.  As far as substance goes, there's not a lot, but still, the book's tells fun story that will delight both children and adults.     

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  B

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  G

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of On the Road to Mr. Mineo's from the generous folks at Farrar Straus and Giroux (an imprint of Macmillan).  Thank you!

A New Year, A New Winner

My first giveaway of the year has come to a close and ... drumroll, please ... Jenny (The Allgaiers) has won a copy of I Believe in Jesus Too by Mark S. Nielsen.  Congratulations!  It's a beautiful book and I'm sure you'll enjoy it.  If you would please send me your mailing address (blogginboutbooksATgmailDOTcom), I'll forward it on to Mark, who will be mailing out the book.

If you didn't win this time, don't despair.  I'll be hosting lots more giveaways throughout the year.  Stay tuned!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive