Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Friday, October 04, 2019

In a Word: Meh

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When a body is found in the small town of Portland, Pennsylvania, it's obvious the dead man has been the victim of a brutal murder.  The crime bears an eerie resemblance to a 20-year-old killing, a cold case that has never been solved.  Since the locals are notoriously unwilling to talk to outsiders, Portland native Parker Reed is assigned as lead detective on the case.  

Becca Kingsley, another native, returns to her hometown around the same time to care for her estranged father, who is now dying of cancer.  As she rekindles her friendship with Parker, her best friend and unrequited high school crush, old feelings quickly surface.  But with the murder investigation turning up old rumors and long-buried secrets, Becca begins to question everything and everyone she's ever known.  The killer is likely someone local.  But, who?  The more Parker and Becca uncover, the more dangerous life in Portland becomes for them ...

I usually love thrillers like River Bodies, the first in a new series by Karen Katchur, but sadly, this one left much to be desired.  The characters are mostly unlikeable, which makes them difficult to connect and empathize with.  I found the motorcycle gang, both its members and its activities, especially cliché and far-fetched.  In addition, since we know from the outset who the murderer is, the book lacks suspense—a key element in a compelling thriller.  The novel's overall vibe is sad, depressing, and overall, kind of pointless.  That being said, I did find myself invested enough in the story to finish the book, but I can't say it was a satisfying read because it just ... wasn't.  Needless to say, I won't be moving on with the series.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other small-town mystery/thriller series, although no specific titles are coming to mind)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a few F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, blood/gore, and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive