Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


13 / 30 books. 43% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


34 / 51 states. 67% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 40 books. 73% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


16 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 61% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


74 / 104 books. 71% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


83 / 165 books. 50% done!
Monday, July 06, 2015

MG Whitney Winner Enjoyable, If Not Super Memorable

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Each time February 29th rolls around, something amazing happens in the Bailey household.  At exactly 4:23 p.m., members of the family who have reached 12 years old since last Leap Year, get their super powers.  Rafter Bailey, now 13, has been waiting anxiously to find out what amazing super skill will be bestowed upon him.  Will he get super speed, super strength, super flying ability?  The suspense is killing him!  He needs a truly awesome power to best his rival, super-supervillain Juanita Johnson.  What will it be?

When Rafter finally gets his power, excitement is not his first reaction.  Try shock, disappointment, disbelief and abject humiliation.  What's he supposed to do with his "amazing" new ability to light matches on polyester?  How will that help him in a battle against Juanita, who can shoot flames from her hands?  At least Rafter's not alone—his younger brother, Benny, is now the (not so) proud owner of a "super" power that allows him to turn his innie belly button into an outie.  What exactly are the Bailey brothers supposed to do with the lamest powers in the history of ever?

As tension grows between the Baileys and their arch nemeses, the Johnsons, Rafter's useless super power becomes even more embarrassing.  He can't help his family using his dumb polyester pyrotechnics.  When push comes to shove, he'll have to decide what it really means to be a hero—and a villain.  With the help of the one person he didn't think he'd ever be able to count on, Rafter might finally be able to prove that he, too, is super.  Well, almost.

Almost Super, a debut middle grade novel by Marion Jensen, is just as cute as it sounds.  It's fun, it's upbeat, it's quirky, it's humorous.  The book's a quick, easy read that will leave a smile on your face, no matter how old (or young) you are.  Even reluctant readers should find it engaging and non-threatening.  That being said, the story doesn't offer a lot of substance.  It teaches some good lessons, sure, but there's just not tons going on beneath the surface with this one.  Overall, it's an enjoyable read, if not a really memorable one.  

(Readalikes:  I can't think of any books, but Almost Super reminds me of movies like The Incredibles, The Adventures of Food Boy, and Sky High)

Grade:  


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
  
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive