Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 50 books. 52% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 52 books. 79% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 26.2 miles. 50% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


68 / 104 books. 65% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 52 books. 85% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


74 / 165 books. 45% done!
Friday, August 06, 2021

Hawaiian Murder Mystery Tries Way Too Hard and Falls Far Too Short

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

At first glance, the death of a teenage surfer in a small Maui town looks like a routine drowning.  A closer inspection by police captain Walter Alaka'i, however, reveals hints of a far more sinister cause of death.  Wanting an expert opinion, Walter calls in his niece, Kali Māhoe, who is both a detective and an anthropologist specializing in Hawaiian culture and tradition.  Kali is also alarmed by what she finds on the corpse, especially considering the spate of noperra-bō sightings that have been reported.  She doesn't really believe that a mythological malevolent spirit is wreaking havoc on her community, but there's no doubt that someone is up to no good.  Who killed the young wave rider?  Kali is determined to find out.

As strange things continue to occur in Hana, followed by another body washed ashore, the pressure mounts.  Can Kali figure out what is going on in her town before she becomes the next victim?

I'm always drawn to books that bring the richness of Hawaii to life, drawing on its native beauty, culture, and traditions to create an intriguing, atmospheric setting.  Debra Bokur attempts to do this with The Fire Thief, her debut novel, even if it feels like she's trying way too hard and falling far too short. Even still, the exotic Hawaiian backdrop is the best thing about this murder mystery.  The characters, unfortunately, are just not a very likable bunch.  Even Kali and Walter come off as cold, crochety, and uncaring.  Kali has the potential to be an appealing heroine, but Bokur tries so hard to make her tough (how many times can she possibly mention Kali's warrior tattoos?) and independent that the detective ends up feeling unapproachable, unsympathetic, and invulnerable.  Not to mention completely unconvincing as either a cop or an anthropologist.  As far as plot goes, The Fire Thief moves on "island time"—it takes forever to get anywhere.  The murder mystery quickly becomes a secondary plot that is overtaken by a much less interesting hunt for stolen solar panels.  Besides a melodramatic fight sequence in the finale, there's little conflict or action to keep the tale exciting.  In the end, then, I found The Fire Thief to be a dull read marked by clumsy plotting, flat characters, and uneven storytelling. I only finished it because I'm trying to read a book set in every state and I needed Hawaii!  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive