Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Happy Birthday, Matilda! (With a Giveaway)

(Image from Penguin)

For a girl who's been madly in love with books her whole life, it's amazing how many novels—especially classics—I haven't gotten around to reading yet.  Really, it's embarrassing.  The average high school senior has probably read more time-honored literature than this English major.  Shameful.

Especially when it comes to famed children's author Roald Dahl.  Up until very recently, I had read exactly one of the twenty or so books he penned for kids (he also wrote stories for adults, a couple of cookbooks, television/film scripts and an autobiography).  One!  So, when the good folks at Penguin Young Readers offered to let BBB help with a blog tour to celebrate the anniversary of Matilda's publication, I jumped at the chance.  Could there have been a more perfect time to introduce myself to one of literature's favorite kindergartners than on her 25th birthday?  I thought not.

If you haven't had the chance to "meet" her yet, let me give you the lowdown on this lovable scamp:

Matilda is the 5-year-old daughter of the deplorable Mr. and Mrs. Wormwood, who think of her as "little more than a scab."  The two are too "gormless" to realize they've somehow created a child with a truly extraordinary capacity for learning.  By three years of age, Matilda has taught herself to read; at four, she's devouring Dickens, Faulkner and Hemingway.  Her abilities are not just limited to literature—every subject she encounters, she masters.  Matilda's incredible knowledge surprises everyone except for her parents, who accuse her of making up stories to get attention.  When the young genius starts school, she encounters two educators with very different teaching styles—kind, open Miss Honey and the nasty, narrow-minded Miss Trunchbull.  As Matilda navigates this strange new world, she discovers some amazing things about the enormous power that lives inside every child.

Although Matilda isn't the absolute best children's book I've ever read, it is immensely enjoyable.  I loved it because it expresses everything that is both difficult and wonderful about childhood.  It's a story not just about finding the courage to be yourself, but also about using your unique talents to help people.  And maybe teach some nasty folks a few lessons along the way :)

*** 

Because Matilda loves books, I was asked to write a little bit about how I discovered my love of the written word.  Here's the prompt I was given:

“I think it’s safe to say that Matilda falls head over heels in love with books. She takes a wagon to gather them from the library. She hides away in her room and reads them for hours. She loves the worlds, the knowledge, the writing. What was it like for you to fall in love with books for the first time? Was it similar to Matilda’s experience?"     

Because my house was always filled with books, which I often saw my parents enjoying, I was drawn to them almost from the moment of my birth.  According to my mom, I learned to read before entering kindergarten and, well, I just never stopped.

Unlike Matilda's parents, mine encouraged my love of reading.  My mom took me to our little hometown library often when I was a kid—just not often enough to keep up with my insatiable appetite for books!  Since I couldn't persuade my mom to drive me down to the library (which was about 1/2 mile from my house) every single day, I frequently made the trek on my own two feet.  I didn't own a wagon like Matilda (pity!), so I'd stack as many books as I could up against my chest and set out for home.  The walk to the library was all downhill; not so the return trip.  My whole body ached by the time I made it back home, but having a dozen or more new books to savor made the agony so very worthwhile.

Like Matilda, I used books for escape—not from a terrible home life, just from a childhood that felt a little too ordinary for this starry-eyed dreamer.  I loved sinking into stories that allowed me to visit exotic places, meet colorful characters, and go on exciting adventures without ever leaving the safety of my home.  I did what Mrs. Phelps, Matilda's local librarian, advises her to do:  "Sit back and allow the words to wash around you, like music."  To me, book words created the most beautiful symphonies of all.  Still do.

What about you?  Have you read Matilda?  Was your experience with learning to love literature similar to hers?  To mine?
*** 

(Readalikes:  Matilda's story reminds me a little of Harry Potter's, while the tone of the book made me think of Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events books)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:

To the FTC, with love:  I borrowed a copy of Matilda from my daughter.  Thanks, babe!

***

Now, for the good part:  To spread the Matilda love, the good folks at Penguin Young Readers are sponsoring a giveaway.  One reader will win a Matilda-themed prize pack, which contains: a paperback copy of Matilda (the edition featured in the picture at the top of this review), one copy of the Matilda Broadway soundtrack (yes, it is a hit Broadway play—click here to read my author friend's short, but enthusiastic review of it), and a Matilda the Musical Broadway poster.  Nice, right?  Since I'm about to head off on vacation, I'm not going to bother with putting together a Rafflecopter thingie—just go ahead and leave a comment on this post saying that you're interested in winning.  On July 10, I'll use Random.org to choose a winner.  Please, please, please leave a valid email address in your comment.  Your entry will be invalid if you forget this very important step.  Also, the contest is open to readers with U.S. addresses only.  Good luck!

There's No Easy Way to Say It: This One's a Bit of a Disappointment

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  Although this review will not contain spoilers for No Easy Way Out, it may inadvertently spoil plot surprises from its predecessor, No Safety in Numbers.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

It's been a week since police locked down the Shops at Stonecliff—a mega-mall in Westchester County, New York—trapping hundreds of people inside.  Thanks to an airborne virus, the crowd has thinned considerably.  Many of the detainees now lay on gurneys in the office supply store turned medical center.  And they might just be the lucky ones.  The rest of the mall's population is fighting hunger, gang violence, boredom and fear.  Although the senator's working hard to establish some semblance of order inside the quarantined mall, it's still a tense, dangerous place to be.  Especially when the only way to escape seems to be in a body bag.

With gangs of armed teenagers roaming the corridors, the senator knows she has to do something.  She enlists the help of Marco Cavajal, who agrees to spy on the problematic youths in exchange for keeping his precious universal key card.  What the senator doesn't know is that Marco's running his own little side operation.  And he's not the only one.  Someone close to the senator's going behind her back every chance they get.  The only thing Marco knows for sure is that he can't trust anyone.

Meanwhile, the other teens—Lexi Ross, Ryan Murphy and Shay Dixit—have their own problems with which to deal.  With a mounting death toll; a dwindling food supply; little contact with the outside world; and different factions trying to overthrow the mall's patchwork government, there's plenty of trouble to go around.  The biggest question of all is not when the mall people will be released, but if they will.  And the answer?  Well, it's looking like a big, fat never.  Can the teens find a way to escape?  Or will they, like everyone else, be stuck in the deadly mall until disease or an act of desperation takes them down?

Although I had issues with No Safety in Numbers, the first book in Dayna Lorentz's dystopian series about four teens stuck in a quarantined mall, I applauded it for being a fast, entertaining read.  At a little over 250 pages, it trotted along fast enough to keep me interested, if not totally riveted.  The newest installment, No Easy Way Out (available for purchase July 16, 2013), is almost double the length of its predecessor.  And, it's got the same problems as the first book, namely weak character development; a simplistic plot line; and ho-hum prose.  Which means the story sags quite a bit.  It also feels too redundant.  I wanted some surprises, some conflicts that up the ante for the people in the mall.  And that just didn't happen often enough in No Easy Way Out.  Overall, I found this one overly-long and ultimately, disappointing.  I still really like the premise behind this series—the execution, not so much.  Bummer.

(Readalikes:  No Safety in Numbers by Dayna Lorentz; also, although this series doesn't have supernatural elements, it reminds me of the Gone series [Gone; Hunger; Lies; Plague; Fear; Light] by Michael Grant)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence/gore, depictions of underage drinking, and sexual innuendo/content

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of No Easy Way Out from the generous folks at Penguin Young Readers Group.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive