Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!
Friday, June 21, 2019

Second Mayfield Family Regency Romance As Diverting As the First

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

The Season is the time to show off the beauty and social graces of London's newest crop of debutantes.  Maryann Morrington doesn't have much of either, but the 22-year-old does possess a hefty inheritance.  Despite her advanced age, her money is more than enough to draw a crowd of suitors to her side.  Well aware that, for most men, her wealth is her most appealing asset, Maryann nevertheless longs to marry a gentleman who appreciates her for her.  

Timothy Mayfield (nephew of Elliott Mayfield from Promises and Primroses) has an enthusiastic zest for life that makes him popular among the ton despite his almost penniless existence.  In London to find a wealthy wife, the 27-year-old experiences a sudden change of fortune allowing him to pursue any woman who appeals to him, regardless of her net worth.  He has come to know Maryann, whom he began courting as a means to an end, as a dear friend whose honesty he finds refreshing.  As he launches on his quest to find the perfect wife (blonde, blue-eyed, feminine, artistic, etc.), Maryann (who is none of those things) endeavors to help him.
Unbeknownst to Timothy, Maryann regards her friend as much more than just a pal or, heaven forbid, an older brother.  When Timothy meets Miss Shaw, a young woman who seems to fit his every requirement for a flawless mate, Maryann knows she must give up any fantasy involving herself and the man she loves.  Timothy will never see her as anything more than a steady companion and trusted advisor.  Or will he?  Caught in a confusing game of "he loves me, he loves me not," Maryann must learn to trust her own heart before it is crushed to pieces.  Again. 

I enjoyed Promises and Primroses, the first book in Josi S. Kilpack's Mayfield Family series, so I was eager to give the second installment a go.  Like its predecessor, Daisies and Devotion offers a light, entertaining story that's clean, uplifting, and fun.  I like my Regency romances short and sweet, so this one ran a little long for me.  Still, overall, I enjoyed it and will definitely continue with the series.

(Readalikes:  Promises and Primroses by Josi S. Kilpack; also reminds me of proper romances by Sarah M. Eden, Jennifer Moore, and Julianne Donaldson)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for very mild innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Daisies and Devotion from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive