Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


8 / 51 states. 16% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


11 / 50 books. 22% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 50 books. 44% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 52 books. 37% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


10 / 26.2 miles. 38% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


10 / 100 books. 10% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 104 books. 22% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 52 books. 42% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 165 books. 13% done!
Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Sad, But Hopeful Tale a Satisfying Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Living and working in a mining town comes with a certain amount of risk.  Everyone knows what could happen, but no one ever expects it to really happen.  Until it does.  In Swandyke, Colorado, a small town near Tenmile Ridge, the inevitable occurs on an otherwise ordinary Spring day in 1920.  Just as the schoolchildren are heading home for the day, a split of snow cracks off the mountain, creating an avalanche with the deadly, unstoppable force of a speeding train.  Hurtling toward the children at the base of the mountain, the heavy snow threatens to bury them all.   

As the tragedy unfolds, residents of Swandyke look on in horror.  Those with children—including two sisters who haven't spoken to each other in decades; a murderer hiding from the law; a prostitute with a hidden identity; a Civil War veteran; and the superintendent's wife, who guards her own secrets—gather to worry, hope and pray.  While each waits to learn the fate of their little ones, their fears, prejudices, and secret longings swim to the surface.  With so many lives hanging in the balance, can the people of Swandyke put aside their many differences and come together as a community?  Or will the avalanche be their ultimate undoing?

Whiter Than Snow by Sandra Dallas is a sad, but hopeful tale about an ordinary town on an average day and how one cruel twist of fate affects everyone who lives there.  It's a vivid, moving story about redemption, forgiveness, and the quiet strength we often never know we possess.  While it's a bit depressing, I also found this novel to be both compelling and touching.  A very satisfying read altogether.  

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and some sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Whiter Than Snow from the generous folks at The Book Report Network.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive