Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (12)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 53 books. 92% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Thursday, January 04, 2018

Fun, Magical Debut a Promising Series Start

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although she descends from a powerful, long-time magical family, Amber Sand is certainly not a witch.  The high school senior got gypped in the sorcery category.  Her "gift" is very specific and totally lame.  She has the ability to see a person's true love within seconds of gazing into their eyes.  While she's able to make a few bucks playing matchmaker at her mother's magic shop on Navy Pier, Amber's ability is pretty much useless.  She can't even discern her own true love.  How ridiculous is that

When Charlie Blitzman comes to Amber for help, she's confused.  Especially since he's not asking for romantic advice, but for her aid in finding his father's missing girlfriend.  Amber can't say no.  After all, Charlie's dad is the mayor and Amber's mother's best friend.  It doesn't hurt that Charlie's gorgeous and the most sought-after guy at her school either.  Although Amber can tell instantly that she is not Charlie's true love, she can't help falling for him.  As she tries to unravel both a mystery and her growing feelings for a boy who clearly isn't meant for her, Amber will have to figure out her place in the equally confusing worlds of magic, love, and high school.  

The Best Kind of Magic, a debut novel by Crystal Cestari, is a fun, light-hearted romance that highlights the everyday sorcery at work in all our lives.  While I found the rules of its magical world a tad confusing, I enjoyed the story overall.  It's an engrossing novel that will appeal to teens who like their contemporary fiction sprinkled with a little bit of magic.  With the next book in the series—The Sweetest Kind of Fate—coming out on February 13, now is the perfect time to get caught up in Amber Sand's enchanting Windy City world.  It's no Harry Potter, but the series promises to be enjoyable and engrossing.

(Readalikes:  Um, nothing is coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Best Kind of Magic from the generous folks at Disney/Hyperion.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive