Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


13 / 30 books. 43% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


35 / 51 states. 69% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 40 books. 73% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


17 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 65% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


74 / 104 books. 71% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


84 / 165 books. 51% done!
Thursday, January 04, 2018

Fun, Magical Debut a Promising Series Start

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although she descends from a powerful, long-time magical family, Amber Sand is certainly not a witch.  The high school senior got gypped in the sorcery category.  Her "gift" is very specific and totally lame.  She has the ability to see a person's true love within seconds of gazing into their eyes.  While she's able to make a few bucks playing matchmaker at her mother's magic shop on Navy Pier, Amber's ability is pretty much useless.  She can't even discern her own true love.  How ridiculous is that

When Charlie Blitzman comes to Amber for help, she's confused.  Especially since he's not asking for romantic advice, but for her aid in finding his father's missing girlfriend.  Amber can't say no.  After all, Charlie's dad is the mayor and Amber's mother's best friend.  It doesn't hurt that Charlie's gorgeous and the most sought-after guy at her school either.  Although Amber can tell instantly that she is not Charlie's true love, she can't help falling for him.  As she tries to unravel both a mystery and her growing feelings for a boy who clearly isn't meant for her, Amber will have to figure out her place in the equally confusing worlds of magic, love, and high school.  

The Best Kind of Magic, a debut novel by Crystal Cestari, is a fun, light-hearted romance that highlights the everyday sorcery at work in all our lives.  While I found the rules of its magical world a tad confusing, I enjoyed the story overall.  It's an engrossing novel that will appeal to teens who like their contemporary fiction sprinkled with a little bit of magic.  With the next book in the series—The Sweetest Kind of Fate—coming out on February 13, now is the perfect time to get caught up in Amber Sand's enchanting Windy City world.  It's no Harry Potter, but the series promises to be enjoyable and engrossing.

(Readalikes:  Um, nothing is coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Best Kind of Magic from the generous folks at Disney/Hyperion.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive