Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!
Thursday, February 21, 2019

Taut Crime Thriller a Pulse-Pounding Page-Turner

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for The Suspect, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier Kate Waters books.  Even though this installment is labeled a standalone, I still recommend reading books in a series in order.

As a journalist who's used to covering hard news, Kate Waters is an expert at maintaining objectivity.  She observes what's happening, cajoles victims into telling her their stories, writes up her pieces, and sends them across the wires.  She's not a cold-hearted monster; she's just doing her job.

When Kate hears the news that two 18-year-old British girls have disappeared while on a backpacking trip in Thailand, she's immediately on alert.  It's not only because it's been a slow news week, but also because her own son—24-year-old Jake—has been in the Asian country for the past two years, almost incommunicado with his worried parents.  If she's sent on location for the newspaper, she can help find the missing girls and check on Jake at the same time.

Kate is shocked to discover that something very sinister has gone down in Thailand.  And that Jake may be tangled up in it.  Frantic with worry, Kate flies to Thailand determined to find not two missing young adults, but three ...

While there's nothing super unique or original about The Suspect, a taut thriller by Fiona Barton, the novel is still a pulse-pounding page-turner.  I read it fast and furious, anxious to know what would happen next.  I guessed most of the twists, but still, the story's compelling enough that I kept reading.  Way later than I should have, as a matter of fact.  In addition to a fast-paced plot, the novel features sympathetic characters (the adult protagonists anyway—the kids are selfish, shallow brats) and capable prose.  Like I said, there's nothing shout-it-from-the-rooftops amazing here, but I'm definitely up for reading more from Barton.  If you like British crime thrillers, give this newcomer a try.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of books by Tana French, Sharon Bolton, Jane Casey, Paula Hawkins, Ruth Ware, etc.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, mild sexual content, depictions of illegal drug use and underage drinking, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Suspect from the generous folks at Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive