Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Twitterpated Another Upbeat, Enjoyable LDS Romance From Melanie Jacobson

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

After a painful breakup with her childhood sweetheart, Jessie Taylor wants nothing to do with love.  The 25-year-old accountant has dated a little since arriving in Seattle three years ago, but all that's done is convince her that her perfect man does not reside in the Emerald City.  Not that she's looking for him.  Because she's not.  And if she was, she certainly wouldn't be searching for him on an online dating site.  No way.  She may be in a bit of a love slump, but she's not totally desperate.  Yet.  

Jessie's mortified when she discovers that she does, in fact, have an active profile on LDS Lookup.  Thanks to her pesky roommate, Jessie's become a hot item on the Mormon dating site.  She's seconds away from deleting her account altogether when one guy catches her eye:  Ben Bratton.  His profile picture is fuzzy, but his description of himself seems almost ... normal.  Jessie takes a chance and it pays off.  Ben is normal.  In fact, he's kind of incredible.  Does she dare get to know him better?  Can her trampled heart take any further abuse?  And what about her intense work schedule—if she spends all her time with Ben, how is she going to prove to her boss that she deserves the promotion he just gave her?  And, the biggest question of all:  Is Ben worth the risk?

Twitterpated by Melanie Jacobson is another fun, lighthearted read about a 20-something Mormon girl finding love online (Jacobson knows of which she speaks—she met her husband on an LDS dating site).  The story gets predictable, of course, and a bit contrived, but like I said, it's entertaining.  I would have liked more conflict, (it almost seemed like Jessie had to invent reasons not to be with Ben), as well as better character development, (Ben had no discernible personality and Jessie was a little too independent to win my sympathy) and a little more story (the subplots didn't get enough playing time for me).  Overall, though, Twitterpated is another upbeat, enjoyable romance from an author who actually makes me excited about the future of LDS fiction.  Jacobson's got a lot of exciting projects coming up.  I, for one, can't wait to see what she does next.         

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Melanie's other books, The List and Not My Type; also of My Ridiculous Romantic Obsessions by Becca Wilhite)     

Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG for very mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I bought Twitterpated from Deseret Book with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.  
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive