Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Carr's Signature Warmth Shines Through in First of New Series

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Stress is an everyday part of Maggie Sullivan's high-pressure life as a Denver neurosurgeon.  It's so ingrained in her the 36-year-old almost doesn't notice that she's heading straight for a nervous breakdown.  Dreading the results of a malpractice lawsuit against her, grieving a recent miscarriage, and trying to find her way after the break-up of a long-term relationship, Maggie's reached the end of her rope.  There's only one place that can heal her broken spirit: Sullivan's Crossing.  

A family campground near the intersection of the Colorado and Continental Divide Trails, Sullivan's Crossing has been in Maggie's family for generations.  Now run by her estranged father, the place offers everything she needs—peace, quiet, distraction—even if it comes with a side of cantankerous old man.  When Sully suffers a debilitating heart attack, Maggie finds herself sucked into caring for her father, his booming business, and a horde of needy tourists.  It's a different kind of stress than she's used to, but it may be just what the doctor ordered for both Maggie and Sully.  

Maggie can't turn down help right now, but she's still suspicious of Cal Jones, a handsome vagabond who's staying at the campground.  She suspects he's not who he appears to be.  She's right.  As the two work together to keep the campground running, they discover surprising commonalities between them—and a passion with the potential to turn into more than just a fleeting campground romance.  Can a summer fling heal two broken people?  At Sullivan's Crossing, anything is possible ... 

I'm not big on the genre as a whole, but I am a sucker for a good Robyn Carr romance.  Carr is a warm, generous woman and those personality traits come through in a big way in everything she writes.  I love her series set in snug little towns filled with good people who cherish their friends, family, and community.  Fiery romances blossom continually in these locales—of course—echoing the cozy glow that emanates from the roads and rills of places like Virgin River, Grace Valley, and Thunder Point.  

Like its fellows, Sullivan's Crossing is a place of beauty and belonging.  The campground has its own personality, though, which makes it a fun setting.  Its residents are warm and down-to-earth, characters who are both compelling and likable.  Although the romance between Maggie and Cal is inevitable, I like that Carr gives it time to build into something that feels real.  Sullivan's Crossing may not have the same place in my heart that Grace Valley and Virgin River do, but I enjoyed What We Find.  It's the first book in a new series—I'm excited to see where it goes!

(Readalikes:  Other books by Robyn Carr.  She's too prolific for me to list all her novels, but you can learn about them on her very informative website.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a few F-bombs, plus milder expletives), sexual content, violence, and references to the consumption of illegal drugs

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of What We Find from the generous folks at Mira Books via those at Little Bird Publicity.  Thank you!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive