Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Thursday, May 17, 2012

Historical Adventure Series Good, Clean, Well-Written Fun

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for The Pharaoh's Daughter, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from Legend of the Jewel, the first book in the Isabelle Webb series.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Former Pinkerton spy Isabelle Webb thought she was retiring from the adventurous life.  Not so.  After a harrowing adventure in India, she's now in Egypt, along with her 16-year-old ward, Sally Rhodes, and her boyfriend, 33-year-old blacksmith James Ashby.  Although Isabelle is anxious to save Sally from any further mishaps (one kidnapping is more than enough, thank you very much), she's intrigued when a woman from her past offers her the chance to join a real archaeological dig.  The opportunity is simply too intriguing to miss.

Isabelle is fascinated by the excavation site, a cave near Luxor that is rumored to be the tomb of a shamed pharaoh's daughter.  But strange things are happening—Isabelle's hearing sinister voices near her tent at night; Alice Bilbey's birthmark burns like fire; and locals keep giving the Americans dire warnings and protective charms.  The longer the group stays, the more danger they seem to be finding.  Is finding treasure, even if it is more magical jewels, worth the risk?  Is it worth their lives?  Isabelle and her friends will soon find out.

I loved N.C. Allen's Legend of the Jewel, so I knew I'd be delighted with The Pharaoh's Daughter as well.  And guess what?  I was.  There are so many things to like about this series—a tough, but vulnerable heroine; quick-paced plotting; fun, likable characters; mystery; even a little twist of the paranormal.  It's good, clean, well-written fun and, believe me, that's not an easy combination to find.  I never would have picked up this series if The Pharaoh's Daughter hadn't been nominated for a Whitney Award, but I'm so very glad I did.  N.C. Allen's found a very devoted fan in Yours Truly.

(Readalikes:  Legend of the Jewel by N.C. Allen; also reminds me of the Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters)

Grade:  B+

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG

To the FTC, with love:  I bought The Pharaoh's Daughter at Deseret Book with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.


Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive