Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


9 / 51 states. 18% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


12 / 50 books. 24% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 52 books. 38% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 26.2 miles. 42% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 100 books. 11% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 104 books. 23% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 165 books. 14% done!
Tuesday, December 15, 2015

YA Steampunk/Alternate History Story a Clean, Charming Romp

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Verity Newton, a 17-year-old from Connecticut, is no stranger to adventure.  She's faced danger and derring-do of every possible kind—between the pages of the pulp novels she loves to read.  Her real life has been less exciting, but her luck in that regard appears to be changing.  Verity's train hasn't even reached New York City before it's robbed by gentleman bandits!  And that's only the first of many intriguing encounters she has in the bustling metropolis.

When Verity accepts a position as governess to a trio of orphaned children living with their uncle, she finds herself the employee of a mysterious British magister.  Using magic to ensure its rule, this noble class has always controlled the American colonies.  Living lives of wealth and privilege, they refuse to mingle with commoners—or concern themselves over the petty squabbles of the lower classes.  Lord Henry Lyndon, however, seems a little too interested in the antics of the Rebel Mechanics, an underground group that uses science and engineering to undermine the magicians' power.  Already acquainted with the cheeky rebels, Verity agrees to be their spy.  She hopes to uncover her employer's clandestine activities while keeping her own secrets well hidden from prying eyes.

As the fight between the rebels and the magisters heats up, Verity finds herself caught in the middle—not just between two warring factions, but between two magnetic men.  With danger all around her, she's finally found the grand adventure for which she's been longing.  But will it prove too much for the intrepid Verity?

From the moment I heard about Rebel Mechanics, Shanna Swendson's debut YA novel, I knew I needed to read it.  The alternate history/steampunk premise just sounded fun.  And, you know what?  It really is.  Although the book turned out to be a lighter read than I expected, I still found Rebel Mechanics engaging, entertaining, and immensely enjoyable.  A clean, campy romp, this is the kind of story in which readers of all ages can delight.  Sure, it's predictable.  Yes, it's got a sorta-annoying love triangle.  No, I didn't care.  I just enjoyed this charming, upbeat read.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:  


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Rebel Mechanics from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive