Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)

My Progress:


11 / 51 states. 22% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 52 books. 29% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 52 books. 35% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


12 / 40 books. 30% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


7 / 40 books. 18% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


12 / 25 books. 48% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 109 books. 17% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Monday, December 09, 2019

Mystery Series Debut a Pleasant Surprise

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Journalist Nichelle Clark has one dream—to work as an investigative reporter for The Washington Post.  In order to earn such a coveted job, the 28-year-old first has to prove herself capable, which means she needs a major story, the kind that will grab the attention of the bigwigs at the Post.  With more seasoned reporters gunning for every lead, Nichelle has to fight for every crumb she can get.  When her "cops and courts" beat at the struggling Richmond Telegraph finally lands her a prime story, she can't wait to dive in.  As the deadly police boat collision she's investigating turns from accident to suspected homicide, Nichelle knows she's stumbled on a story that could make her whole career.

The deeper Nichelle digs, however, the more dangerous her life becomes.  Suddenly, she's dealing with missing evidence, drug dealers, and a sexy Mafia man whose sudden appearances at her home make her heart race—in more ways than one.  Add to that a bitter rivalry with the office bimbo and a handsome new colleague whose intentions she can't quite figure out and Nichelle's got a lot on her shoulders.  Can her designer stilettos hold up under the pressure?  Will Nichelle live long enough to sort her business and nab the story of a lifetime?  Or will the examination of Nichelle's murdered body be the next item on the coroner's to-do list? 
I downloaded Front Page Fatality, the first installment in LynDee Walker's Nichelle Clarke mystery series, because it was cheap on Kindle (right now it's only $3.99).  If I had seen its original cover (above right), I would have kept my distance, but the new art plus a compelling plot summary made me want to give this one a chance.  I have to say, I'm glad I did.  The book turned out to be a very pleasant surprise.  I enjoyed the newsroom setting, which felt very authentic thanks to Walker's extensive experience as an investigative reporter.  Despite Nichelle's sometimes annoying fashion and shoe fetishes, I found her to be an appealing heroine.  She's confident, funny, tough, and determined.  Plotwise, Front Page Fatality doesn't offer anything outstanding or original; still, it's compelling.  I definitely wanted to know what was going to happen next.  It's not my favorite mystery series debut or anything, but I've already bought the next two books in the series, so that says a lot about how much I enjoyed Front Page Fatality.

(Readalikes:  Other books in the Nichelle Clarke series by LynDee Walker)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, and innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Front Page Fatality with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive