Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 100 books. 23% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


61 / 165 books. 37% done!
Tuesday, November 07, 2017

Regency Romance with Substance Makes for an Enjoyable Read (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

As the daughter of an illustrious duke, Lady Amanda Cumberland enjoys a life of wealth and privilege.  In London for her first Season, the 16-year-old should have only one thing on her mind—fun.  With two handsome, eligible lords courting her, her days have become infinitely more exciting, but still, something is missing.  Lady Amanda longs to do something real.  When she hears a stirring speech by Henry Hunt championing equal rights for all, his words sink deep into her soul.  She vows to do all she can, even if it must be done secretly, to help common Englishmen—and women—achieve the dreams of freedom and equality.  

Lord Nathaniel Halloway is known as the biggest rake in London.  It's a facade he's carefully cultivated to hide his true passion—aiding the lower classes in their fight for freedom.  His role in the campaign is bigger than anyone could guess; if the other members of the ton found out, the consequences would be unimaginable.  Lord Nathaniel must play his part in their glittering world of excess and abandon in order to divert high society's fickle attention away from his true activities. 

With her father pressuring her into choosing a husband, Lady Amanda must do some pretty play-acting of her own.  Both play their roles to near perfection.  Will their frivolous masks keep them from uniting—not just in a noble cause but in a love that could burn brighter than anything they've ever known?  

I've been known to enjoy a fluffy Regency romance now and then, but I like them even better when they've got some substance behind them.  The Nobleman's Daughter, a debut novel by Jen Geigle Johnson, offers up just that.  Using England's turn-of-the-century fight for equal rights as a backdrop, the author creates a tension-filled romance that keeps the reader enthralled as it winds down to its inevitable Happily Ever After.  The story's predictable; it's also exciting, fun, and engrossing.  Nothing overly original, but it's enjoyable overall.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Regency romances by Jennifer Moore)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Nobleman's Daughter from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

-- 



Want more opinions on The Nobleman's Daughter?  Follow along with the book's blog tour by clicking the links below:


--

Want to win a copy of The Nobleman's Daughter for your very own, plus a $25 Amazon gift card?  Enter the giveaway below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive