Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)

My Progress:


14 / 51 states. 27% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


17 / 50 books. 34% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 52 books. 37% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 52 books. 42% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


8 / 40 books. 20% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


13 / 25 books. 52% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 109 books. 22% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Monday, September 14, 2020

Middle Grade Debut Heartfelt and Hopeful


(Image from Barnes & Noble)

For generations, folks in the small farming community of Maryville, North Carolina, have relied on the Bee Lady's sweet honey to heal their hurts.  The golden nectar is said to be infused with a special magic.  If there's anything 12-year-old Della Kelly needs right now it's some good juju.  Not only is her father's watermelon crop in trouble, but Della's mother is displaying the same disturbing behavior that landed her in a mental hospital once before.  As the family's financial situation deteriorates and her mom's condition worsens, the care of her baby sister falls into Della's hands.  Overwhelmed and terrified, Della knows she has to find a permanent solution to her problems.  If magic honey can't do the trick, what can?  

Where the Watermelons GrowCindy Baldwin's debut, is an atmospheric, heartfelt novel about family, mental illness, and the pain and confusion that often goes along with growing up.  Della is a sympathetic, authentic heroine—it's easy to root for her success.  My favorite aspect of the novel was the idea of the magic honey.  While I understand that Della had to learn a lesson about tackling tough problems with real solutions, I still wanted more of the magical element.  Overall, though, I enjoyed this poignant, hopeful story.  
(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little of Rules by Cynthia Lord)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for subject matter (erratic/dangerous behavior of a parent due to mental illness) that might be disturbing for readers under 12

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive