Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!
Monday, December 14, 2020

Little Rock Nine Memoir Inspirational and Empowering

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

On May 17, 1954, in the case of Brown v. the Board of Education, the Supreme Court of the United States unanimously ruled that "separate but equal" education violated the Fourteenth Amendment.  The segregation of schools was inherently unequal and should, therefore, be abolished.  While many cheered the landmark decision, many others opposed it, including Arkansas governor Orval Faubus.  His vehement opposition to the integration of Little Rock High School turned the city into a hotbed of tension and racist violence, making the news around the world.  In defiance of Faubus' wishes and the opinions of many Little Rock citizens, nine brave Black high school students integrated the institution with armed guards by their sides in 1957.  They became known as the Little Rock Nine.  Their courage in the face of unthinkable prejudice, mockery, and violence made them heroes whose fortitude continues to awe and inspire.

Journalist Melba Patillo Beals was a 15-year-old high school junior when she and eight others became the first Black students to enroll at Little Rock Central High School.  Determined to get the same education as her white peers, she endured name-calling, being spat on, death threats, being burned with acid, and hundreds of other humiliations at LRCHS.  Although she did not graduate from the institution (she completed her schooling in California, where she boarded with white Quakers), she endured a year of hell there.  It was a year that changed her forever.  In Warriors Don't Cry, Beals tells her story of both terror and triumph in an intimate, personal memoir that is memorable and moving.  The book provides a horrifying but fascinating peek into the history of the Civil Rights Movement, giving readers a gut-wrenching look at what one innocent child had to endure simply because of her skin color.  What stands out is Beals' faith, determination, and inner strength.  Her story is an important, empowering one that intrigued and inspired me.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Elizabeth and Hazel: Two Women of Little Rock by David Margolick and The Lions of Little Rock by Kristin Levine)

Grade:



If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), racial slurs, violence, scenes of peril, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Bob A Heartwarming Sequel to The One and Only Ivan

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Once upon a time, a group of animals lived at a forgotten roadside attraction called the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade.  Now that they've all been rescued, Ivan the gorilla and Ruby the baby elephant live at a sanctuary.  Bob, their canine friend, was taken home by Julia, the daughter of the mall's janitor.  He gets to visit his friends frequently, but it's not quite the same.  Still, there's lots to be said for the domesticated life—plenty of food; lots of belly rubs; a safe, warm bed; etc.  For a "mutt of uncertain heritage" (5), it's not a bad life. 

One day as Bob is visiting Ivan and Ruby, an oncoming hurricane starts wreaking havoc on the sanctuary and its animals.  Bob is separated from Julia in the chaos.  As he tries to help the distressed sanctuary residents, the canine makes a startling discovery—someone he thought was gone forever might still be alive.  Bob can't believe it, but he has to find out if the dog in question is really his long-lost sister.  Is it possible?  Can Bob save his litter mate from being caught in the storm?  Or will she rescue him from a life of domesticated boredom?  When push comes to shove, what does family really mean?  Where does Bob truly belong?

If you, like me, loved The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate, then you're going to enjoy its sequel as well.  The One and Only Bob is an upbeat, heartwarming story featuring a funny, fast-"talking" hero who will make you smile.  Although the novel isn't as thoughtful and wise as Ivan, it still tells a sweet, uplifting story that teaches some good lessons about family, forgiveness, and friendship.  Through Bob's actions in the tale, it also shows that anyone—no matter how small—can be a hero.


Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence, scenes of peril, and scary situations

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of The One and Only Bob with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive