Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


9 / 30 books. 30% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (6)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


16 / 51 states. 31% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


37 / 50 books. 74% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 52 books. 58% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 40 books. 55% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 26.2 miles. 84% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


45 / 104 books. 43% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


36 / 52 books. 69% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


40 / 165 books. 24% done!
Monday, October 05, 2015

A Lowly Spider Can't Be A Hero—Or Can He?

(Image from Shadow Mountain)

Even though Westly doesn't look quite like his caterpillar friends, he knows that one day, he'll be the Monarch ruling them all.  That's his destiny—his right—as a butterfly prince.  He'll reign from the glittering chandelier at the top of the glass menagerie that encapsulates his entire world.  As his peers emerge from their cocoons with bright, beautiful wings, Westly becomes even more excited.  It's almost his turn!  But when he breaks out of his wrapping, everyone gasps.  Unlike the other young butterflies, he has eight legs and no wings.  Shocked and shamed, Westly runs away from the only home he's ever known.
As a very confused Westly navigates the outside world, he encounters strange creatures, scary places, and all kinds of other dangers he's never faced before.  While having these adventures, Westly slowly begins to understand that he's not a butterfly at all, but a spider.  Before he's had time to really comprehend what this means, Westly makes a giant mistake.  One that puts every insect in the menagerie at risk.  Can he fix what he's done before it's too late?  A lowly spider can't be a hero—or can he?

Written and illustrated by Bryan Beus, Westly: A Spider's Tale tells an exciting story about one spider's quest to find himself.  There's plenty of action to engage young readers.  Beus' drawings as well as his menagerie setting, with its intriguing hierarchy, add depth to the narrative.  Most important, though, are the lessons Westly learns about loyalty, forgiveness, teamwork, and embracing one's uniqueness.  Any child who's ever felt different from his peers will empathize with Westly's plight.  While Westly: A Spider's Tale doesn't bring anything really new or original to the table, it's a quick, enjoyable tale that teaches life lessons valuable not just to children, but to us all. 

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:
  
If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for some scary scenes

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Westly: A Spider's Tale from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for my participation in the book's virtual blog tour.  Thank you!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive