Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Thursday, January 26, 2017

Dark YA Noir Mystery Just Not Enjoyable

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

No one's sure exactly how it happened, but one thing is for certain: vibrant Maggie Kim is dead.  Her body has been discovered in the family swimming pool, chock full of pills.  Did the flamboyant senior kill herself?  Or was it an accident?  Maggie's best friend, Jude, can't accept either explanation.  Maggie was brilliant, beautiful, and brimming with life.  With so much going for her, why would she commit suicide?  Jude is convinced something more sinister has happened: murder.  But who would want Maggie dead?  Suddenly, everyone Maggie knew is looking like a suspect ...

As Jude investigates her friend's death, it becomes painfully apparent that Maggie's been keeping secrets.  Did Jude know her BFF at all?  What else was Maggie hiding?  Did something she knew lead to her untimely death?  Jude is determined to find out, even if it means letting her own skeletons out of the closet.

I've read—and enjoyed—several of Sherri L. Smith's books, so I was thrilled when I discovered she'd published a new one in 2016.  I hoped it would contain the originality of Orleans, the warmth of Lucy the Giant, and the triumphant swell of Flygirl.  Sadly, Pasadena doesn't have any of these things.  Not really.  The novel has been described as noir, so I guess I shouldn't have been surprised by its dark plot, disaffected characters, and depressing overtones.  And yet, I was.  For wealthy white kids (Maggie is Korean-American, but still) living in glittering Pasadena, Maggie and her friends are a very world-weary bunch.  They're unrealistically cynical, inexplicably bitter.  Both Maggie and Jude are selfish, self-absorbed, and just bratty.  I couldn't understand why anyone liked them; I certainly didn't.  Regardless, I did want to know what had happened to Maggie.  The answer—when it came—just made me more annoyed.  So, yeah, Pasadena left me very disappointed.  I've been a Sherri L. Smith fan since she published her first book, but man, her newest just was not enjoyable for me.  At all.  Here's hoping she finds her mojo again with her next attempt.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little of Far From You by Tess Sharpe)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a dozen or so F-bombs, plus milder expletives), mild sexual content, and depictions of underage drinking and the use of illegal drugs

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Bizarre Psychological Thriller Fails to Live Up to Its Promising Premise

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Eleven years ago, Rebecca "Bec" Winter went missing during her summer break in Canbera.  After working her shift at the local McDonald's, the 16-year-old never came home.  She'd been experiencing some odd things, including the feeling of being watched, but Bec never thought much of it.  Then, she disappeared without a trace.

Bearing an uncanny resemblance to the infamous Bec Winter, a 24-year-old homeless woman seizes a chance to avoid police trouble by claiming to be the missing Bec.  Although the lead detective is suspicious of her admission, the imposter is soon living in Bec's home, wearing her clothes, and hanging out with her friends.  The more Bec's doppleganger learns about the woman she's replaced, however, the more worried she becomes.  It appears that Bec's tormentor is still at large.  Will the person who harmed Bec come for her replacement as well?

I love me a good psychological thriller.  You all know that.  When I heard about Only Daughter, a debut novel by Australian author Anna Snoekstra, I knew I wanted to give it a go.  The premise is intriguing, if not wholly original, so I picked it up.  What did I think?  Well ... the story has promise, it really does.  It just doesn't live up to its potential.  First of all, the characters are almost entirely unlikable, especially the two women at the center of the novel.  The plot is tense and suspenseful, true, but it also gets weird—just really bizarre—and far-fetched.  The big reveal seemed improbable, which made the ending unsatisfying for me.  I wanted to like this one, but overall, I just didn't.  Bummer.


Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, sexual content, depictions of underage drinking, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive