Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 100 books. 23% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


61 / 165 books. 37% done!
Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-Me Authors I Want to Try in 2023


Today's Top Ten Tuesday topic is a freebie. My mind is blanking on anything fresh and creative, so I'm going to continue with the author theme from last week. If you missed my post on my Top Ten 2022 New-to-Me Author Discoveries, you can find it here. Today, I'm going to dish about some authors I want to try out for the first time this year. In order to keep the list to just ten, I opted to leave out debut authors and focus on those who've already published at least 2-3 books.

Before we get to that, though, be sure to click on over to That Artsy Reader Girl and give Jana, our lovely host, some love. While you're there, read up on TTT and join in the fun. You won't regret it!

Top Ten Authors I Want to Try in 2023


1. Armando Lucas Correa—Originally from Cuba, Correa is a journalist who has penned articles, historical fiction and a memoir.  


Where I plan to start: The German Girl is a World War II novel about a young Jewish girl who must escape Berlin before it gets any more dangerous. She boards the S.S. St. Louis, a liner taking German refugees to safety in Cuba. What begins as a luxurious adventure soon turns into a harrowing nightmare. Sounds intriguing!


2. Tanita S. Davis—Davis writes contemporary fiction for middle-grade and YA audiences that feature diverse characters dealing with real-life problems. 


Where I plan to start: Mare's War, a road trip and dual-timeline novel about two kids who learn just how fascinating their eccentric grandma really is, sounds fabulous. I love stories about family history, unsung heroes, and generations learning about each other. 


3. Kimberly Duffy—Several of Duffy's historical fiction titles have caught my eye. They all have gorgeous covers and plot summaries that sound right up my alley. 


Where I plan to start: Duffy's newest, The Weight of Air, is about two female circus performers whose lives intersect in New York in the early 1900s. It sounds excellent.


4. Susan Furlong—Furlong writes cozy mysteries as well as crime fiction and psychological thrillers.


Where I plan to start:
What They Don't Know, Furlong's newest, sounds like the perfect way to start. It's about a mother who's frustrated with her son, who has run off to live a party-filled life away from home. When he becomes the prime suspect in the murder of a young woman, she sets out on a desperate quest to find her son, bring him home, and prove his innocence.


5. Kimberly Willis Holt—Holt writes contemporary and historical fiction for young readers. She won the National Book Award for Young People's Literature in 1999.


Where I plan to start: Blooming at the Texas Sunrise Motel is a middle-grade novel about a young girl who goes to live with her estranged grandfather at his dilapidated motel after her parents are killed. As she befriends the place's colorful residents, she finds healing and connection. 


6. Lydia Kang—Kang is a doctor who writes science and historical fiction as well as non-fiction with an emphasis on medicine, forensics, chemistry, etc.  


Where I plan to start: Kang has written two non-fiction books with Nate Pederson. Both sound interesting, but I think I'm going to start with Patient Zero: A Curious History of the World's Worst Diseases.


7. Caroline Lea—A poet and novelist, Lea writes historical fiction set around the world.


Where I plan to start: The Glass Woman, Lea's 2019 debut, is "a gothic thriller set during the Icelandic witch trials." Say no more. I'm in.


8. Kate Quinn—Quinn probably needs no introduction. Her recent war novels have gotten tons of buzz over the last few years, but she actually has a fairly long backlist of historical fiction.


Where I plan to start: Set in 1937 Ukraine, The Diamond Eye is about a studious young mother who becomes a deadly sniper in order to fight the Nazis invading her country. Based on a real person, the story sounds fascinating.


9. Nikola Scott—Although Scott had a career as a crime fiction editor, she writes historical fiction about families and their secrets. 


Where I plan to start: Scott's 2017 debut novel, My Mother's Shadow, is about Addie, a woman whose mind is blown when a woman shows up claiming to be her sister. Addie thought she knew everything about her mother's life, but clearly, her mother was keeping secrets. 


10. Art Spiegelman—Spiegelman is an American cartoonist, comic advocate, and Pultizer Prize winner. He's best known for his Maus books, a graphic novel series about his parents' experience as prisoners in Auschwitz. 


Where I plan to start: I'm not sure there's anywhere else to begin but with Maus, the first installment in Spiegelman's well-known series. 

There you have it, ten authors I want to read this year. Have you read any of them? What do you think? Which authors are you planning to try in 2023? I'd truly love to know. Leave me a comment on this post and I will gladly return the favor on your blog.

Happy TTT!

Tuesday, January 24, 2023

Top Ten Tuesday: 2022 New-to-Me Author Discoveries


Although I have a ton of favorite authors whose books are auto-reads for me, I also try a fair number of new writers every year. In fact, of the 200 books I read in 2022, 117 (59%) were by authors I hadn't tried before. So far in 2023, I've read 17 books, 10 of which were written by new-to-me writers. Some of these have been duds, naturally, but others introduced me to some great new authors whom I very much want to read more from. I found more than 10 last year, so I had to narrow it down to the ones who stood out most for me.

Before we get to that, though, be sure to click on over to That Artsy Reader Girl and give our lovely TTT host, Jana, some love. If you want to join in with your own list, all the details about this fun weekly event are on her blog.

Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2022


1. Jason Reynolds—This iconic children's author was my best find of 2022. He writes contemporary middle-grade and YA books starring Black characters living in urban situations and dealing with everything from ADHD to bullying to gang violence to wrongful arrests. His books are compelling, funny, poignant, and approachable (even to a 47-year-old white woman). I listened to his whole Track series last year. The audiobooks are especially entertaining because of Guy Lockard, Reynolds' long-time friend and a talented actor and narrator. 


2. Tamara BerryBuried in a Good Book, the first installment in Berry's By the Book cozy mystery series, had me smiling and laughing so much that I knew I needed to read more from her. So far, I've read the second book in the series and the first in her Eleanor Wilde cozy series. Her books are just fun! She also writes romances under the names Lucy Gilmore and Tamara Morgan.


3. Fredrik Backman—Backman's been a popular author ever since A Man Called Ove came out in 2014. His books didn't really seem like my kind of thing, so I avoided them until someone in my book club suggested we read Anxious People. I wasn't looking forward to it, honestly, but once I got started, I couldn't stop. What a delightful read! I loved it and now I want to read more by this beloved Swedish writer.


4. Stacy Willingham—I just finished Willingham's second novel, which I liked even more than her debut, A Flicker in the Dark, which I read last year. Her books are engrossing, twisty, and compelling.


5. Sulari Gentill—Although this Australian author has published a number of books, I didn't hear about her until 2022 when The Woman in the Library came out. It's a fun, clever novel that made me want to read more of Gentill's mysteries.


6. Eleanor BrownAny Other Family was one of my favorite reads of last year. Brown has penned a couple other novels, plus some non-fiction. I'm not really interested in the latter, but the former? Definintely!


7. Lisa Yee—I read a lot of middle-grade novels last year for a few different book awards. Lee's Maizy Chen's Last Chance was considered for the Cybils Awards and while it didn't ultimately make the cut to be a finalist (although it was a finalist for the National Book Award for Young People's Literature), I very much enjoyed it. I'll for sure be checking out Yee's backlist for more gems.


8. Ali StandishYonder was a stand-out read for me in 2022. Standish has written a handful of other middle-grade novels that I can't wait to explore.


9. Serena BurdickThe Girls With No Names broke my heart and made me a Burdick fan. I'm planning to read more of her hist-fic this year.


10. Kimi Cunningham Grant—I've read two of Grant's books, one a non-fiction account of her grandparents' experience in a Japanese internment camp during World War II, the other a contemporary novel about an isolated father and daughter whose secretive lives are interrupted by an unexpected visitor to their remote cabin. She's only published one other book, which I will hopefully be able to read in 2023. 

There you are, ten new-to-me authors I found in 2022. Have you read any of them? What did you think? Which writers did you discover in 2023? I'd truly love to know. Leave me a comment on this post and I will gladly return the favor on your blog.

Happy TTT!

Thursday, January 19, 2023

Nellie Bly: A Fascinating Trailblazer in Any Genre

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

"After all, what was sanity, except being able to contain the madness inside you?" (178)

If you know anything about Nellie Bly, it's probably that she was an intrepid newspaper reporter who went undercover at a mental institution on Blackwell's Island in New York City in 1887. That stunt alone was enough to make her famous. It also says a great deal about who she was, what she cared about, and how far she was willing to go to not just make a name for herself but also to create a better world for those she considered underprivileged and underserved. Just from this scant amount of information, it's easy to see that Bly was a fascinating person who lived an interesting life. No wonder I wanted to know more about her!

When I first heard about Madwoman by Louisa Treger, I thought it was a biography of the well-known journalist. Turns out, it's a novel—just one that feels very much like a biography. I don't have a problem with either genre, of course, but I would have preferred to read either a novel or a biography, not a mash-up of both that left me wondering what was true and what wasn't. Despite Madwoman's rather lackluster storytelling, though, I did find myself hooked. Bly's story is that compelling.  

Although Treger spends a few chapters on Bly's upbringing (which was fairly uneventful until her beloved father died and her mother married an abusive alcoholic), Madwoman focuses almost entirely on the reporter's experience on Blackwell's Island. The events leading up to her investigation show her pluck and her determination to be something extraordinary—a female journalist writing hard news—at a time when women reporters were almost unheard of, even in New York City. Those who were in the industry wrote only about safe, feminine subjects like cooking, cleaning, and fashion. Bly wanted more. By using courage and ingenuity, she infiltrated an esteemed institution almost entirely on her own, ushering in an era of bold, creative investigative reporting that hadn't been seen before. Her experience at the asylum was harrowing, naturally, but her observations of how cruelly patients were treated there helped change the way mental institutions cared for those confined within. 

Treger's prose is matter-of-fact and rather flat, but as I said, I still found myself caught up in Bly's story. Even though I knew she only ended up spending ten days in the asylum before her rescue was organized by executives at the New York World newspaper, I nevertheless worried for her. Treger did an excellent job of making her days in the grim institution feel as endless, dangerous and hopeless as they no doubt were. 

Madwoman is wrapped up with a few chapters about the aftermath of Bly's incredible stunt. Not only does Treger describe the public's eager fascination with Bly's resulting articles, her subsequent fame, and the change that was wrought because of her investigation, but she also talks about the toll those ten days in the asylum took on Bly both physically and emotionally. "She had faked madness to get into the asylum," writes Treger. "Now she was out of it, she must fake sanity" (234). The question at the heart of Madwoman is clear: How can anyone, no matter how sane or insane they are upon entrance, leave such a place after having been treated so horribly, with their mental faculties intact? 

I found Madwoman fascinating, but it did leave me wondering which parts of the story were true and which weren't. I also wanted to know what happened to Bly next. Did she continue taking on (or inventing for herself) dangerous assignments? What else did her long career in journalism accomplish? These questions led me to Ten Days a Madwoman by Deborah Noyes, a biography intended for middle-grade readers that covers Bly's whole life in 122 focused, informative pages (the title is misleading since the book only spends a few chapters on Bly's experience in the asylum). Honestly, since I got the information I wanted from Ten Days a Madwoman, I probably could have skipped Madwoman altogether, although it was interesting to compare/contrast the two books. Despite reading both, my desire to know more about Bly has not been entirely satiated. At some point, I still plan to read The Mad Girls of New York by Maya Rodale, Eighty Days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland's History-Making Race Around the World by Matthew Goodman, and Ten Days In A Mad-House by Nellie Bly herself. 

Am I the only one fascinated by this fearless history-maker? Which books have you read and loved about the incredible Nellie Bly?

(Readalikes: Reminds me of Ten Days a Madwoman by Deborah Noyes and The Woman They Could Not Silence by Kate Moore as well as novels about mental asylums in 19th Century America, like Girl 99 by Greer MacallisterA Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis, etc.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (1 F-bomb, plus milder invectives), violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love: I bought a copy of Madwoman with a portion of the millions I earn from my lucrative career as a book blogger. Ha ha.

Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Top Ten Tuesday: Shiny New Releases, Part Two


I'm a little late to the party today, but I didn't want to miss my favorite weekly meme so here I am! Today's prompt is perfect for the new year: Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2023. Other than reading 200 books (my Goodreads goal) and completing the reading challenges I've taken on, I really don't have any reading/blogging resolutions to speak of. I'm just going to keep doing what I do and not stress about something that's supposed to be fun, you know? I enjoyed last week's topic—Top Ten Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2023—so much that I'm going to keep it going this week. In case you missed it, here's my Shiny New Releases, Part One

If you want to get on the TTT party bus (and you do!), click on over to That Artsy Reader Girl for all the details.

Top Ten Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2023 
or Shiny New Releases, Part Two

- in order of publication date - 


1. The Night Travelers by Armando Lucas Correa (released January 10)—This triple-timeline historical novel begins in 1931 Berlin with Ally Keller, a young single woman who gives birth to a mixed-race child she names Lilith. Desperate to keep her daughter out of the eye of the Aryan-obsessed Nazis, Ally hatches a dangerous plan to save Lilith. Three decades later, Lilith is worrying about how to protect her own daughter, Nadine, as she and her Cuban pilot husband deal with a violent revolution in that country. Thirty years after that, Nadine is a scientist in Berlin whose passion is honoring the remains of all the people murdered by the Nazis. Despite her dedication to this cause, she's never really explored her own family's harrowing experience during World War II. At the urging of her own daughter, Nadine reluctantly starts digging into her own dramatic past. 


2. Tenkill by Shannon Kirk (available today, January 17)—This book, about a lawyer who is forced to go on the run while investigating suspicious data from her own firm, is described as "a surrealist thriller for fans of early John Grisham, with an all-female-led cast, and a secret at the end that will shake you to your core." I'll bite!


3. Finally Seen by Kelly Yang (available February 28)—I enjoyed New From Here, Yang's 2022 middle-grade novel about a Chinese-American family's experiences in California during the COVID-19 pandemic, so I'm excited to read this one, her newest. It's about a 10-year-old Chinese girl who moves to Los Angeles after living with her grandmother in Shanghai for five years. Lina is excited to be reunited with her parents and younger sister after so long, but America is not exactly what she expected. Has she made a huge mistake? Should she have stayed in Shanghai, even if kids there made fun of her? If she doesn't fit in in either country, where does she belong?


4. The Metropolitan Affair by Jocelyn Green (available March 14)—I enjoyed Green's Windy City saga, but I wasn't aware that she had a new book coming out until I saw it on several TTT lists last week. Set in the 1920s, her latest features Egyptologist Lauren Westlake. When a detective investigating a string of art forgeries approaches her for aid, Dr. Westlake can't help but be intrigued by the puzzling mystery. 


5. Lone Women by Victor LaVelle (available March 28)—Horror isn't something I read a lot of these days, but when I saw this book mentioned on numerous TTT lists last week, I knew I needed to read it. It concerns a woman who sets out for the Montana wilderness in 1914 to take advantage of the government's offer of free land. Leaving trouble behind her in California, she drags along a mysterious trunk that must always remain locked, inside of which is a secret that ensures there will be plenty more trouble to come.


6. The House Is On Fire by Rachel Beanland (available April 4)—Have you heard about the 1811 fire at a theater in Richmond, Virginia, that killed 70 people, including Virginia's governor? I hadn't. This novel explores the tragedy from several different viewpoints, examining the actions and inactions that make all the difference in the literal heat of the moment.


7. A Wealth of Deception by Trish Esden (available April 18)—The second installment in Esden's Scandal Mountain Antiques Mystery series, this one has Edie Brown—a Vermont antiques and art dealer—discovering an unsettling collage with a mysterious provenance. As she and her colleagues investigate the piece, they find themselves getting too close to a dangerous art underground where criminals will kill in order to protect their profitable scams.


8. Lady Tan's Circle of Women by Lisa See (available June 6)—Tan Yunxian is a physician in 15th-Century China who is devoted to providing the best care she can to her female patients. She forms a fast friendship with Meiling, a miwife-in-training, who shares her passion for helping people. When Yunxian is forced into an arranged marriage, she is forbidden by her mother-in-law to continue her medical practice and ordered not to see Meiling. Being a "proper" wife is a soul-sucking occupation that does not suit Yunxian. How can she break free and return to her real life's purpose?


9. What Remains by Wendy Walker (available June 13)—When Detective Elise Sutton unwittingly walks into a deadly situation in a department store, she's forced to make a split-second decision. To save one life, she takes another, a choice that has her neighbors lauding her as a hero. She certainly doesn't feel like one, especially when she connects with the man she saved and begins to realize he's not who he says he is. Did Elise make a terrible mistake?


10. The Only One Left by Riley Sager (available June 20)—I don't know about you, but I can't resist a new Sager book and this one sounds especially tantalizing. It's about a notorious murder that took place in Maine in the 1920s in which one sister killed another. The accused was never charged with the crime. In the six decades since it happened, she has become a recluse, never leaving her family's mansion. When she offers to tell her home health aide everything, it becomes obvious that there's a lot more to the story than anyone ever imagined.

There you go, another ten new releases I'm looking forward to reading. Do any of these look appealing to you? Which up-and-comers are you highly anticipating? What are your bookish goals for 2023? I'd truly love to know. Leave me a comment on this post and I'll gladly return the favor on your blog.

Happy TTT! 

Tuesday, January 10, 2023

Top Ten Tuesday: Shiny New Releases


Are you the kind of reader who keeps a close eye on all the new releases coming out? Or are you one of those who couldn't care less? Maybe somewhere in between? I love keeping tabs on the up-and-comers so I know when my favorite authors are releasing new titles and which others I don't want to miss out on. It's not necessarily that I'm going to read them all right away; I just like knowing what's coming down the pipe. This week's TTT prompt is right up my alley: Top Ten Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2023. Mine includes my usual blend of historical fiction, mystery/thriller, and a couple middle-grade reads to round things out. I can't wait to see what's on your list this week. My TBR list is going to be in trouble this week, I can already tell!

If you want to join in the TTT fun (and you do!), click on over to That Artsy Reader Girl for all the details.

Top Ten Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2023  

- in order of publication date - 


1. The Stranded by Sarah Daniels (published January 3)—Dystopian fiction might be passé, but I'm still a fan. This first installment in a planned series sounds compelling. It's about a luxury liner-turned-refugee ship that's been confined to the oceans since a devastating war turned the world into a post-apocalyptic nightmare. The passengers are getting antsy, desperate to see what's left of civilization on dry land, and they're about to take drastic action in order to escape the Arcadia, which has become—to them—a floating prison.


2. All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham (available January 10)—Isabelle Drake has barely slept a wink since her toddler was snatched from his crib one year ago. Even suffering from severe insomnia, she has only one purpose: finding her son. Desperate for any lead, she agrees to be interviewed by a true crime podcaster. His disturbing obsession bothers her, as does the paranoia and doubt that seem to be taking over her mind. Is she slowly going insane? Is she misremembering something from the night her baby disappeared? Where is Mason and how far will Isabelle go to bring him home?


3. Winston Chu vs. the Whimsies by Stacey Lee (available February 7)—I love Lee's Chinese-themed YA historical fiction, so I'm intrigued by her newest, a middle-grade fantasy. It's about a 12-year-old boy who prevents a robbery at a curiosity shop in Chinatown and is gifted an item from the store as a reward. Winston's disappointed when he gets a perfectly ordinary broom and dustpan, until strange things start happening and he wonders what exactly he's gotten himself into...Sounds fun!


4. The Woman With the Cure by Lynn Cullen (available February 21)—This historical novel tells the true story of Dorothy Horstmann, a woman from humble, immigrant beginnings who became a medical doctor when it was almost unheard of for females to do so. In the 1940s and 50s, she's at the forefront of the race to find a vaccine for polio. When push comes to shove, she has to decide what she's willing to sacrifice in order to save the world from a devastating disease.


5. Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen (available March 7)—I enjoy Nielsen's historical middle-grade novels as well as books about maritime disasters, so I'm excited to read her newest. It's about a young stowaway on Titanic. One minute, Hazel's marveling at the great ship; the next, she's fighting for her life as the mighty vessel sinks into the sea.


6. All That Is Mine I Carry With Me by William Landay (available March 7)—In 1975, Jane Larkin disappears from her home without a trace, leaving behind her husband and three children. There are no signs of a struggle and her pocketbook remains in its proper place. Although authorities suspect Miranda's husband of murder, they can't prove it, and he remains free to raise his trio of traumatized children. When Miranda's body is found two decades later, the family is forced to reexamine what happened to Jane and who is at fault.


7. A Girl Called Samson by Amy Harmon (available April 1)—Deborah Samson, a penniless indentured servant, longs for freedom and adventure. The Revolutionary War provides a surprising opportunity for liberation. Deborah disguises herself as a boy and joins up. Will fighting for her country finally give her life purpose? Is she brave enough to be a hero? Will she be able to conceal her secret long enough to find out?


8. Camp Zero by Michelle Min Sterling (available April 4)—Camp Zero is an American building project located in Canada's frozen tundra. In an effort to help her mother, a Korean immigrant displaced by climate change, Rose agrees to work as a spy to uncover Camp Zero's many secrets. What is the building project really about? And why is there an army of elite women soldiers camping nearby? Rose won't stop until she finds the answers, however dangerous the investigation might be.


9. Homecoming by Kate Morton (available April 11)—Of all the books on my list, this is the one I'm most looking forward to. Morton is one of my favorite authors and she only publishes every 2-3 years, so I always get excited when she announces a new book. This one concerns a horrifying crime in Australia that has remained unsolved for many years. When Jess, a journalist living in England, gets a call summoning her to her grandmother's home in Sydney, she discovers a shocking connection between her family and the long-ago crime. What really happened on Christmas Eve 1959?


10. The Only Survivors by Megan Miranda (available April 11)—I'm a fan of Miranda's propulsive thrillers, so I'm excited for this one. It's about a group of friends who reunite on the tenth anniversary of a terrible accident. When one of them disappears, it casts a whole new light on the decade-old tragedy.

There you go, ten new releases I'm eagerly awaiting. Are you familiar with any of them? Which up-and-comers are you looking forward to reading? I would truly love to know. Leave me a comment on this post and I will gladly return the favor on your blog.

Happy TTT!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive