Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


22 / 51 books. 43% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 50 books. 30% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


32.2 / 26.2 miles. 123% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


20 / 100 books. 20% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


55 / 104 books. 53% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


54 / 165 books. 33% done!
Saturday, April 30, 2022

Newest "Beervaria" Cozy Not Quite As Charming As the Others

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note: Although this review will not contain spoilers for The Cure for What Ales You, it may inadvertently spoil plot surprises from earlier Sloan Krause mysteries. As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Beer enthusiasts flock to charming Leavenworth, Washington, every year to enjoy the town's lively Maifest celebration. Craft brewers Sloan Krause and Garrett Strong are excited to debut their new line of drinks at the festival. They're looking forward to a fun, profitable weekend. 

Sloan's plans are derailed when she spots a familiar face amongst all the tourists. Marianne is the woman who could hold all the answers to Sloan's many questions about her mysterious past. Sloan needs to talk to her, but Marianne seems to be avoiding her. Why? When a local housekeeper is murdered and Marianne becomes the police's prime suspect, the brewer is even more confused. Why is Marianne in town? Does she hold the answers Sloan has been seeking for so long? 

When Marianne warns Sloan that her family is in danger, Sloan goes on high alert. To protect those she loves and figure out the mystery of her past, she must use her detective skills once more to find a killer. Marianne can't be the murderer—or can she?

It's always fun to drop in on Sloan and the gang in lovely Leavenworth. The characters in this series are warm and likable, the setting is vibrant and atmospheric, and the plots are engaging and enjoyable. While the newest installment (#5), The Cure For What Ales You, isn't my favorite, it's still an entertaining read. Unlike its predecessors, this novel focuses a lot on Sloan's mysterious past, which adds a little something new to the story. The plot gets a bit melodramatic and far-fetched (not an uncommon occurrence in a cozy), true, but there was enough substance in the novel to keep me turning pages. I enjoy Alexander's light, fun cozies, so I'll keep reading this series even if this particular installment didn't enchant me quite as much as the others.

(Readalikes: Reminds me of other books in the Sloan Krause series [Death On Tap; The Pint of No Return; Beyond a Reasonable Stout; and Without a Brew] as well as cozy series by Amanda Flower, Vivien Chien, Kylie Logan, etc.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs); violence; and mild sexual content (in the form of sexual harrassment)

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive