Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Tuesday, October 23, 2012

You Don't Have to Know Dali from Degas to Enjoy This Compelling Literary Thriller

(Image from Barnes & Noble)


In Boston's cutthroat world of professional art, forgers are not looked upon with even a modicum of respect.  Claire Roth should know.  It doesn't matter that the 31-year-old painter copies great works of art in a perfectly legal—and not unprofitable—manner.  Ever since the shocking betrayal that made her a pariah in the art community three years ago, she, and her work, have received nothing but disdain.  Until now.  When Aiden Markel, an influential art dealer, expresses interest in Claire's paintings (not her copies, but her originals), she can hardly believe it.  When he offers her a show at his very well-respected gallery, she's over the moon.  When he explains the catch, she's tempted.  Oh, so very tempted.

In exchange for a show at Markel's uber chic gallery (and $50,000), Claire will have to forge a painting.  Not copy a painting, like she does every day for Reproductions.com, but actually forge a painting.  As in, copy a masterpiece, that will be passed off as the original.  It's not just any painting either, but a Degas.  And not just any Degas, but one that was stolen from Boston's elite Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in 1990.  Claire knows Markel's proposition is unethical, immoral and completely illegal.  And yet, it's the chance of a lifetime, a chance to prove her worth to the community that has dubbed her "The Great Pretender."

With the stolen masterpiece as her guide, Claire begins to recreate the famous Degas.  But the more she studies it, the more concerned she becomes.  Something's not right with the painting.  Determined to understand the mystery before her, Claire begins researching the painting's origins and makes some very startling discoveries.  As her forgery makes its way into the world, she must decide what's most important—the truth or her future as an artist.

Although the painting at the center of The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro is fictional, the theft the book describes is not.  On March 18, 1990, two thieves really did rob the museum, making off with thirteen works of art, including pieces by Degas, Rembrandt and Vermeer.  The identities of the criminals remain unknown, as do the whereabouts of the stolen art.  Although tragic, the event makes a very compelling backdrop for a literary thriller.  You don't have to know a Degas from a Dali to become completely absorbed in this fast-paced, tightly-plotted tale about a tortured artist and her obsession to be recognized for her own talent.  With a whole cast of finely-drawn, realistically-flawed story people, The Art Forger will appeal to fans of both plot-based and character-based fiction.  It's that engrossing, that mesmerizing.  Easily my favorite read of the year, this one is not to be missed.

(Readalikes:  I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  A

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  R for strong language (a dozen or so F-bombs, plus milder invectives) and sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Art Forger from the generous folks at Algonquin via ELLE Magazine's Reader's Jury program.  Thank you!   

Mormon Mentions: B.A. Shapiro

If you don't know what a Mormon is, let alone a Mormon Mention, let me explain:

As a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (commonly known as the LDS or Mormon Church), I am naturally concerned with how my religion is portrayed in the media.  Since this blog focuses on books, every time I see my church mentioned in a book written by an author who is not LDS, I post it here.  Then, I offer my insider's view of the subject at hand.  It's a chance for me to correct false statements, elaborate on subjects important to me, and, a lot of times, just to laugh at my (sometimes) crazy Mormon culture.

If you're not interested in these kinds of posts, feel free to skip them.

Alright, here we go ... in B.A. Shapiro's literary thriller, The Art Forger, the heroine is trying to find information about a family using the Internet.  The passage reads:

Rik doesn't call until close to nine, and by then I've given up on Rendell's family for the night—even the Mormon Web site doesn't have anything—and fallen asleep on the couch" (310).

One of the things most people know about Mormons is that we're big into families.  Because we believe that family ties are eternal, we go to great lengths to preserve them.  Thus, we're known as the people to contact about genealogy (family history).  The LDS Church does, indeed, have the best genealogical resources around and anyone can use them.  Don't believe me?  Go to Family Search right now.  Type in the name of a deceased ancestor.  Watch what happens.  Cool, right?  Shapiro's heroine may not have found anything, but chances are, you will.  Give it a try.

What do you think?  Are you interested in family history?  Ever used the Internet to find your own kin?

(Please not that the text quoted above came from an ARC of The Art Forger.  It may have been changed in the finished novel.)
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive