Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, September 02, 2015

Wayward Pines Series Comes to a Nerve-Shredding, Nail-Biter of a Conclusion

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for The Last Town, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier Wayward Pines thrillers.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Now that Ethan Burke—a former Secret Service agent turned small-town sheriff—has defied the creator of Wayward Pines, Idaho, he's facing the consequences of his (perhaps rash) decision to stand against the all-powerful David Pilcher.  In retaliation for Ethan's rebellion, Pilcher has powered down the electrical fences that surround the town, leaving everyone inside vulnerable.  Now its residents, who may very well be the last humans on the planet, are under attack by the ferocious aberrations ("abbies") that live in the wilderness outside Wayward Pines.  The bloodthirsty monsters will extinguish the human race once and for all, unless Ethan can find a way to breach Pilcher's mountain stronghold.  Even if he manages the impossible, what can possibly be next for the survivors?  Is there anywhere in their ruined world where they can find safety?  Or is it better to just surrender and let the abbies win?  Ethan must make some terrifying, deadly choices.  And fast.  Before everything he knows and loves is gone forever.

Like the first two books in Blake Crouch's pulse-pounding Wayward Pines series, The Last Town sprints along at a dizzying pace.  It's tense, it's exciting, it's suspenseful—it's impossible not to whip through pages as fast as you can to see what's going to happen next.  Action takes the wheel in this series ender as it races toward its ambiguous, but perfect conclusion.  I inhaled The Last Town in one nail-biting, nerve-shredding sitting.  Wayward Pines may not be my very favorite dystopian series ever, but it definitely kept me enthralled.  I enjoyed it and can't wait to see what's next from the always enigmatic Blake Crouch.  

(Readalikes:  Pines and Wayward by Black Crouch)

Grade:


If this were a movie (The books have, in fact, been made into a television series on Fox!), it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, and mild sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive