Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (3)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida (1)
- Georgia (2)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (5)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (9)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (3)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming (1)
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (16)
France (1)
Greece (1)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Malaysia (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Portugal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


38 / 51 states. 75% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 53 books. 123% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


36 / 50 books. 72% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 40 books. 95% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Saturday, April 04, 2015

Scandalous Sisterhood A Zany, Madcap Adventure

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

The students at St. Etheldreda's School for Young Ladies have little love for their cantankerous headmistress, Mrs. Plackett.  Or Mr. Godding, her odious brother.  Still, when the two keel over during a routine Sunday dinner, the students are a little disheartened, for the dual deaths by poisoning have come at a most inconvenient time indeed.  If anyone in the small village of Ely were to discover the girls living at the school unchaperoned, all seven students would surely be sent home
.  Perish the thought.  None of them want to return to the confining pressures of family life, especially since doing so would mean losing contact with one another.  Naturally, they cannot allow this to happen.  Obviously, they'll have to hide the corpses and pretend that everything at St. Etheldreda's is as proper as ever.

Of course, it will not be easy.  Especially as the townspeople begin to suspect that something is not quite right at the boarding school.  As keeping up the deception grows more and more difficult, the girls become more and more suspicious—not just of Mrs. Plackett's various associates, but also of each other.  When the clues finally start making sense, the girls begin to see what really happened.  But can they unmask the murderer in time to save themselves and their school?  Or will they be done in by their own dishonesty?

I like an author who keeps me guessing.  Julie Berry fits the bill.  I've read two of her books and they're very different from each other.  Her first YA novel, All the Truth That's In Me, is a spare, but lyrical story about a young woman's quest to find her voice.  The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place, her newest, is a middle grade Victorian murder mystery.  It's a wild, zany caper that's clever, funny, and enjoyable.  The girls' somewhat blase attitudes about the deaths of their supervisors is a touch disturbing.  Overall, though, the novel is a delightful madcap adventure.  Far-fetched, of course, but that's half the fun.  If you're looking for a light, engaging read that's both clean and amusing, look no further than this AML Award winner and Whitney Award nominee. 

(Readalikes:  Honestly, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:  


for violence and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place from the generous folks at Macmillan.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive