Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Monday, September 03, 2012

Wonder Deserves Praise for Graceful Prose, Touching Message

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

August Pullman's got a face that makes small children scream in fright.  Even adults can't stop themselves from reacting to it—they gasp, wince, stare or turn away in disgust.  The 10-year-old tries not to take offense.  After all, he knows what he looks like.  He does.  But he also knows that on the inside he's just an ordinary kid.  If others could look past his facial deformities and get to know him, they'd see there's more to August than just his Elephant Man exterior.

Because of all his health problems, August has never attended public school.  Until now.  He's nervous about starting 5th grade, even though the principal at Beecher Prep assures him all will be well.  Can August convince his new classmates to give him a chance?  Or will they, like everyone else, fail to see anything but his Halloween mask of a face?  

Wonder, a debut middle grade novel by R.J. Palacio, has been lauded all over the book blogosphere for its graceful prose and touching message.  It deserves the praise.  It absolutely does.  Wonder is an important book, one that teaches kindness and empathy without feeling too heavy-handed.  Heartwarming and hopeful, it's the kind of book that needs to be read by every child.  The story didn't blow me away like it did other reviewers, but it definitely spoke to me.  As it will, no doubt, to you.    

(Readalikes:  Reminded me a little of The Encyclopedia of Me by Karen Rivers; Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult; Butter by Erin Jade Lange; and The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux)

Grade:  B+

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG for depictions of underage smoking and subject matter that is more suitable for older middle graders

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find 
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive