Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Saturday, October 29, 2022

With The Maid, You Can Believe the Hype

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Molly Gray may look like an ordinary 25-year-old woman, but she's not. She possesses an innocent guilelessness and a forthright manner, the combination of which is discombobulating to say the least. People just don't know how to react to her and vice versa. Molly's beloved Gran was the one who helped her navigate the confusing world of social interaction. Now that she's gone, Molly's feeling more at sea than ever. Grieving the devastating loss of the only person who's ever really understood her, she throws herself even more doggedly into her job as a maid at the elegant Regency Grand Hotel. There's nothing she loves more than donning her crisply-ironed uniform, organizing her housekeeping cart just so, and returning untidy rooms to perfection.

When Molly enters the room of Charles Black, a wealthy business tycoon, and his new, much younger wife, she expects to do her usual cleaning, with the bonus of a wee chat with the lovely Giselle, who—to Molly's shock—seems to enjoy these regular convos with her lowly maid. Molly's stunned when she, instead, finds Charles dead in his bed, the victim of a bloody homicide. It's not long before Molly, with her unusual demeanor, becomes the lead suspect in the mogul's murder. She didn't do it, but who did? In order to clear her name, Molly must find the man's real killer. With her keen attention to detail and her intimate knowledge of the Regency Grand, she's the perfect woman for the job, even if some of the hotel's more subtle inner workings have escaped her until now. Can this unconventional Nancy Drew solve the case? Or will Molly be forced to exchange her spotless maid's uniform for a germy prison jumpsuit?

Book hype often has a weird negative effect on me. Instead of enticing me to read a much-lauded tome, it pushes me away from it. This was the case with The Maid, the bestselling debut novel by Canadian author Nita Prose. Although it was touted as a clever, heartwarming, fun mystery—four adjectives I'm very much in favor of—I wasn't sure I really wanted to read it. One too many rave reviews later and I just had to know if the book is all it's cracked up to be. Guess what? It is. The Maid truly is a gem. I adored it. Molly is an appealing heroine, whose antics made me laugh. I love that she's authentically herself while also being much more than she seems. The other characters are colorful (Many even have colors for last names—a homage to Clue, I guess?), although not nearly as memorable as Molly. Her individuality, coupled with Prose's unique narrative style, makes this novel stand out. This is a good thing because The Maid's plot is actually fairly straightforward and generic. I saw all of its twists coming but one. I didn't love the Big Reveal at the end, but it definitely gives the book another layer of depth that will make book clubbers happy by giving them something juicy to discuss. All in all, I loved The Maid. It's entertaining, hopeful, and just all-around enjoyable. In this case at least, you can believe the hype!

(Readalikes: Hmm, I can't really think of anything. You?)

Grade: 


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a handful of F-bombs, plus milder expletives) and violence

To the FTC, with love: I bought a copy of The Maid with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger. Ha ha.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive