Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 50 books. 52% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 52 books. 79% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 26.2 miles. 50% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


68 / 104 books. 65% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 52 books. 85% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


74 / 165 books. 45% done!
Thursday, September 21, 2017

Final Installment a Fitting End to Compelling Teen Mystery Trilogy

(Image from Barnes & Noble

Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Hide and Seek, it may inadvertently spoil plot surprises from previous Jess Tennant mysteries.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.

Jess Tennant wasn't thrilled when her mom dragged her away from London to live in tiny Port Sentinel, but the seaside village has definitely grown on her.  She enjoys living with family at Sandhayes, flirting with her hot next door neighbor, and working at the town's dusty thrift shop.  Having gotten herself entangled in some town mysteries over the year since she's lived in Port Sentinel, Jess is known as a bit of a troublemaker.  But, really, she's just an ordinary kid trying to survive high school.

When 16-year-old Gilly Poynter disappears one winter day, Jess can't stop herself from worrying.  She didn't know her classmate well, but she's certain the girl has come to some kind of harm.  If the police won't do something about the missing teen, Jess will.  Even if it means putting herself in harm's way.  Although she's warned away from her amateur investigation, Jess refuses to give up.  She will get answers.

In the meantime, Jess has plenty of other problems.  There's her stepfather's sudden reappearance; her "forbidden" relationship with Will; and the constant friction between her and the police inspector, who also happens to be Will's father.  Can Jess sort out all her personal problems?  Will she uncover the truth about Gilly's disappearance?  With so much on her plate, the last thing she wants to worry about is her personal safety—but that's becoming an increasing concern.  The more she sticks her nose where it doesn't belong, the more danger stalks her every move ...

I've enjoyed all the books in the Jess Tennant trilogy by Irish crime writer Jane CaseyHide and Seek, the final installment, is no exception.  The story moves along at a swift pace, with plenty of twists to keep the reader guessing.  Jess is an engaging heroine—smart, brave, and self-deprecating.  The teens in this series are unrealistically unsupervised and world-weary, but that's about my only complaint with these books.  Otherwise, I've really enjoyed the whole series.  Although Casey's adult books get fairly graphic, her YA mysteries are much easier to stomach.  If you're up for a tense, twisty teen mystery, I'd definitely recommend this trilogy.  Here's hoping Casey pens more books for younger readers!

(Readalikes:  How to Fall and Bet Your Life by Jane Casey; also reminds me a little of the Northwoods Mystery series [Enchantment Lake; The Clue in the Trees] by Margi Preus)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive