Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (11)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 25 books. 76% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 53 books. 75% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


37 / 52 books. 71% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Monday, December 22, 2014

Wanted: (More Than) A Few Good Men

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

You've heard the old adage:  A good man is hard to find.  That may be true, but as David S. Baxter—a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints' First Quorum of the Seventy—argues, they are absolutely essential for the future of families, governments, and societies.  As a man who grew up without the loving guidance of a father, Baxter knows firsthand why such influences are so important.

Few would disagree that the world needs more good men.  The real question is, how does one become such?  In What Good Men Do, Baxter examines the lives of several everyday men, unsung heroes who showed courage, compassion, and determination even in the most trying of circumstances.  By looking at the traits which defined their characters, Baxter creates a list of values all men (and women) can aspire to acquire.  These include: taking risks, helping the needy, leading one's family with patience and love, standing up for what is right, etc.  This leads Baxter to the most renowned example of a good man—the Savior, Jesus Christ.  Insists Baxter, studying His life, His teachings and His atonement shows us how to live as did the greatest man who ever walked this Earth. 

Although Baxter aims his remarks specifically at men of the LDS faith, his message really is for everyone.  It's nothing you haven't heard before, but it still provides some great food for thought.  If every man (and woman) strove to live up to the ideals Baxter discusses in his book, the world would be a much brighter place indeed.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:



If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for one brief, vague reference to rape

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of What Good Men Do from the generous folks at Cedar Fort.  Thank you!


Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive