Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (11)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 53 books. 91% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Thursday, November 08, 2018

Bolton's Newest Not My Absolute Favorite, But a Close Second

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

It's been 30 years since Florence Lovelady joined the Sabden police force, becoming the first female officer to serve in the small town near the Pendle Forest in Lancashire, England.  She may have been a 22-year-old greenie back then, but she solved the biggest case the area had ever seen, making a name for herself.  Putting Larry Glassbrook—a coffin maker who got his kicks burying teen girls alive—in prison remains the highlight of Florence's long and distinguished career.  Now, at 52, she's the most senior serving policewoman in Britain and only months away from retirement.  

When chilling events from the past start repeating themselves, Florence is stunned.  Glassbrook is dead; he can't be pulling strings from beyond the grave.  Either they're dealing with a very skilled copycat or Florence got it wrong all those years ago.  But if the coffin maker is innocent, then who buried those girls alive?  And how can she stop the horror from happening all over again?  

It's no secret that I'm a big Sharon Bolton fan.  I've read all of her books and while Little Black Lies will probably always be my favorite, The Craftsman isn't far behind.  Why?  It's a bit different from Bolton's others—still gritty, but less gruesome and more Gothic.  The characters are intriguing, the plot's compelling, and, as always, Bolton surprised me with a twisty, unexpected finale.  I didn't suspect the real killer until the very end, which is exactly how I like it!  So, while The Craftsman may not be my absolute favorite Bolton book, it's a close second.

(Readalikes:  Other crime novels by Sharon Bolton; also reminds me of books by Jane Casey)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Craftsman from the generous folks at St. Martin's Press.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive