Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Thursday, November 08, 2018

Bolton's Newest Not My Absolute Favorite, But a Close Second

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

It's been 30 years since Florence Lovelady joined the Sabden police force, becoming the first female officer to serve in the small town near the Pendle Forest in Lancashire, England.  She may have been a 22-year-old greenie back then, but she solved the biggest case the area had ever seen, making a name for herself.  Putting Larry Glassbrook—a coffin maker who got his kicks burying teen girls alive—in prison remains the highlight of Florence's long and distinguished career.  Now, at 52, she's the most senior serving policewoman in Britain and only months away from retirement.  

When chilling events from the past start repeating themselves, Florence is stunned.  Glassbrook is dead; he can't be pulling strings from beyond the grave.  Either they're dealing with a very skilled copycat or Florence got it wrong all those years ago.  But if the coffin maker is innocent, then who buried those girls alive?  And how can she stop the horror from happening all over again?  

It's no secret that I'm a big Sharon Bolton fan.  I've read all of her books and while Little Black Lies will probably always be my favorite, The Craftsman isn't far behind.  Why?  It's a bit different from Bolton's others—still gritty, but less gruesome and more Gothic.  The characters are intriguing, the plot's compelling, and, as always, Bolton surprised me with a twisty, unexpected finale.  I didn't suspect the real killer until the very end, which is exactly how I like it!  So, while The Craftsman may not be my absolute favorite Bolton book, it's a close second.

(Readalikes:  Other crime novels by Sharon Bolton; also reminds me of books by Jane Casey)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Craftsman from the generous folks at St. Martin's Press.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive