Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


7 / 30 books. 23% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


10 / 51 states. 20% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


8 / 50 books. 16% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 50 books. 52% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 40 books. 48% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 100 books. 12% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 104 books. 27% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


27 / 52 books. 52% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


27 / 165 books. 16% done!
Friday, November 13, 2020

Christmas Cozy Mystery Another Fun Romp in Amish Country

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Premeditated Peppermint, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier installments in the Amish Candy Shop mystery series.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Bailey King is looking forward to a cozy Christmas in Amish country, celebrated simply with her devout  grandmother.  Peppermint is the dominant scent at Swissmen's Sweets as the chocolatier cheerfully bakes up a sleigh-full of goodies for her eager customers.  Bailey's enthusiastic ho ho ho's soon turn to bitter "bah humbugs" when her ex-boyfriend, celebrity pastry chef Eric Sharp, shows up in town to film a documentary on Amish Christmas practices.  His producer wants an "authentic" story greedy t.v. viewers will eat up, which Bailey fears will involve exploiting her friends, family, and business for ratings.  

When the documentary's executive producer, Rocky Rivers, is found dead in a Harvest gazebo, Eric becomes the primary suspect in her murder.  The town's sheriff's deputy, Aiden Brody, who has been sweet on Bailey ever since she came to town, seems only too eager to slap some cuffs on Eric's wrists.  Bailey's hardly Eric's biggest fan, but she doesn't want him to be wrongfully convicted.  Reluctantly, she agrees to play detective.  She believes in Eric's innocence (doesn't she?), but if he didn't kill Rocky, who did?  And why?  If she doesn't find the killer soon, no one in little Harvest is going to have a very merry Christmas ...

Premeditated Peppermint is the third book in Amanda Flower's delightful series revolving around the folks in Harvest, Ohio.  Although the quaint little town has a surprisingly high crime rate, it's still a fun place to visit.  The residents are appropriately quirky and there's plenty of Amish/English tension simmering under the surface to create lots of intriguing conflict.  Although the stories get far-fetched, I'm happy to suspend my disbelief in order to be entertained by the townfolks' antics.  Just like its predecessors, Premeditated Peppermint offers likable characters, a compelling mystery, and a unique setting.  Its vibe is Christmas-cozy, remaining warm and upbeat throughout.  I'm picky about which cozy mysteries I read; this series is one of my favorites.  The stories are fun, light, and entertaining.  Premeditated Peppermint is no exception.  I enjoyed it, just as I have all the previous installments.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other books in the Amish Candy Shop series, including Assaulted Caramel, Criminally Cocoa [novella], Lethal Licorice, Botched Butterscotch [novella], Toxic Toffee, Marshmallow Malice, Candy Cane Crime, and Lemon Drop Dead, as well as cozies by Kylie Logan, Ellie Alexander, and Vivien Chien)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive