Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Tuesday, June 18, 2013

TTT: Easy, Breezy Summer Readin'

It's time again for my favorite weekly bookish meme: Top Ten Tuesday.  It's hosted, as always, by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.  Today, they want to know what's at the top of everyone's summer TBR list.  Mine looks a little something like this:

Top Ten Books at the Top of My Summer TBR List


1.  The Distance Between Us by Kasie West—I'm reading this contemporary YA romance right now (it comes out on July 2, I believe) and, although it's pretty fluffy, I'm enjoying it.  It's a classic rich boy meets poor girl love story, set in a beach town in California.  Although it's set during the Fall months, it's the kind of light, fun book that's perfect for summer reading.


2.  Bones of the Lost by Kathy Reichs—I always get excited when a new Temperance Brennan novel comes out.  This is one of my favorite adult series.  Since the book doesn't come out until August, I was thrilled to get an ARC of this one via Edelweiss.  I can't wait to see what adventures Tempe has this time around.


3.  The Newcomer by Robyn Carr—Adult romances really aren't my thing, so I generally avoid them like the proverbial plague.  Unless, of course, they're written by Carr.  She's a warm, lovely person whose personality really shines through in the books she writes.  They're romances, yes, but they're also stories about communities, families and people who value things like integrity, fidelity and loyalty to one's family, friends and country.  Carr's newest series, set on the Oregon Coast, is just as appealing as her Virgin River and Grace Valley books.  The Newcomer is the second installment in the series and it looks like a perfect summer read!  The novel comes out in about a week, but thanks to the generous Robyn Carr, I already have a copy sitting on my shelf.  


4.  Matilda by Roald Dahl—Believe it or not, I've never read Matilda.  So, when the good folks at Penguin asked if I'd like to review it as part of the celebrations for the book's 25th Anniversary, I could not resist the opportunity.  Look for my review soon!


5.  World War Z by Max Brooks—Even though it's not really monster season, I love a good zombie yarn.  I just got this one from the library and hope to get to it soon.


6.  The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr—Zarr's books are kind of hit and miss for me and her newest has gotten mixed reviews, so we'll see what I think of this one.


7.  The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman—I pre-orderd this one from Amazon because, well, it's Neil Gaiman.  People are saying it's really weird, though, so know I'm really interested to see what it's all about!


8.  Amity & Sorrow by Peggy Riley—I'm not sure why this novel about escaping polygamy sounds so intriguing to me, but it does.  It sounds a little heavy for the easy, breezy days of summer and yet, it's one I definitely want to get to soon.


9.  Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library by Chris Grabenstein—I've been seeing this one advertised on Amazon and I think it looks excellent.  It's a MG book about a kid who's trapped in a new library created by a genius game master.  He has to find clues and solve puzzles to find his way out.  It's being billed as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets Night at the Museum, which just totally intrigues me.  The book comes out on June 25th.  I can't wait to see what it's all about.


10.  The Kill Room by Jeffery Deaver—Deaver's books are pretty hard core, but I enjoy his series about quadriplegic forensic expert Lincoln Rhyme.  Rhyme's a brilliant character and his adventures are always fast-paced and compelling.  I hope the hold list at the library moves fast because I can't wait to read this one.  

Have you read any of these?  What did you think?  And, what's at the top of your summer reading list?      

A FAYZ Finale (*Sniff, Sniff*)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Light, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier Gone novels.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

More than a year has passed since everyone over the age of 14 vanished from Perdido Beach, California.  Those left behind, residents of a domed area dubbed the FAYZ, have learned to fend for themselves—and not just for food, water and shelter.  They've had to battle a deadly plague; giant, bloodthirsty worms; feral coyotes; and, worst of all, each other.  While some have used their strange new superpowers to do good, others have caused only destruction.  Chaos is what The Gaiaphage—a horrifying, control-hungry monster—wants and that's exactly what it's getting.  Now that the dome has turned opaque, spectators can see what's happening in the FAYZ.  They're outraged, not just because there are children trapped inside, but because of what those children have become.

Despite the news helicopters buzzing around outside the dome, the fast food signs glowing in the night, and the hundreds of people gathered to peer inside, nothing much has changed in the FAYZ.  Sam's group is hunkered down at the lake; Cain and his cronies rule the town; Astrid's autistic brother, Little Pete, is MIA; and Diana's stuck with the psycho baby that emerged from her own womb.  Gaia's gaining strength by the hour.  She's bent only on destruction—of her nemesis, Little Pete; of the FAYZ and everyone in it; and of the world beyond.  Fighting Gaia is impossible.  The kids can't survive against her mighty power, especially if they can't learn to stand together.  Even if they do, even with their strongest mutants on the front lines, even then, there's a good chance none of them will make it out of the FAYZ alive.  And yet, Sam refuses to go down without a fight.  Can Sam and his friends foil the Gaiaphage and save the world or will their efforts all be in vain?

Call me a sadist, but I'm sad to see the FAYZ end.  It was inevitable, of course, and truly, I'm impressed at how Michael Grant was able to up the ante in each of the books until, finally, bringing the series to a dramatic, yet satisfying, conclusion.  I've enjoyed all the novels and Light is no exception.  It's got all the action, drama, suspense, and even humor that I expect from these books.  And while I didn't absolutely love the ending, it felt right.  

(Readalikes:  Other books in the Gone series [Gone; Hunger; Lies; Plague; Fear] by Michael Grant; as well as other YA dystopian novels)

Grade:  B

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG-13 for language (no F-bombs), violence/gore, and mild sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive