Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


18 / 51 states. 35% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


20 / 50 books. 40% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 50 books. 76% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 40 books. 57% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


24 / 26.2 miles. 92% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 104 books. 47% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 165 books. 27% done!
Monday, December 07, 2020

Southern Horror Novel Unique and Fun


Feeling bored with her mundane life and inconsequential to those who share it, stay-at-home mom Patricia Campbell turns to true crime books for excitement.  Although she gathers with a group of like-minded women to discuss the tomes, their book club is about more than just reading.  It's a refuge for Patty and her pals, a place for commiseration and camaraderie, friendship and support.  

When a handsome newcomer arrives in the neighborhood, Patty's friends are immediately atwitter.  James Harris awakens long-dormant feelings in Patty, too, but she's wary.  Something about the man is not right.  He's cagey about his past, strangely allergic to sunlight, and has a weird magnetism that is almost ... supernatural.  Then there are all the odd occurrences in the neighborhood that just happen to coincide with James' arrival.  No one else seems alarmed, but Patty is convinced James is a vampire.  Now, she has to prove it to her friends and get their help expelling the creature.  So what if they all think she's crazy?  Patty has to protect her neighborhood from the evil that's stalking it.  Can she stop the charming bloodsucker before he destroys everything—and everyone—she loves?

Based on the title and plot summary, I expected The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix to be a funny, light-hearted read.  And it is in some ways.  It's also deeper than it appears, with some very astute commentary about motherhood, female friendships, sexism, and gender roles.  Although my experiences with men and community politics don't really align with those of Patty and her friends, I still related strongly to the women at the center of this novel.  Hendrix brought them to life for me, making me care about what happened to them.  I was so invested, in fact, that I burned through The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires in one day.  And it's not a slim novel!  The slow-burn story, which is more psychological thriller than horror fest (although there's plenty of gore), is engrossing and compelling.  It definitely kept me riveted to the page.  While the book wasn't exactly what I expected it to be, I ended up really enjoying it.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a few F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another fine find

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive