Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


64 / 104 books. 62% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


69 / 165 books. 42% done!
Saturday, October 31, 2020

Domestic Drama Dissatisfying and Weird

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Marie Langham has always been jealous of her best friend's perfect life.  Nina Beaufort has it all—a doting husband, two beautiful children, and a lovely home.  When Nina dies of cancer, Marie is devastated to lose her only real friend.  The only thing she can do for her now is keep her promise to make sure Nina's children are looked after.  Marie's only too happy to step into the role she's been secretly coveting for years.  Before long, she's moved into Nina's home, ostensibly to assist Nina's husband.  Her secret mission is to seduce him and convince him to marry her, thereby cementing her place in the household.  

The more time Marie spends in Nina's home, the more she comes to realize that Nina's life was far from perfect.  In fact, the dead woman was keeping some shocking secrets.  When the past comes calling, Marie finds herself caught in the middle.  Is the life she always envied really the one she wants?  

Domestic dramas mixed with mystery, suspense, and some psychological thrills are a dime a dozen these days.  Some are twisty, adrenaline-fueled page turners, others are ... not.  Unfortunately, The Last Wife by Karen Hamilton falls into the latter category.  First of all, it's more domestic drama than anything else, which perhaps explains why it's so straightforward and predictable.  Second, it's populated with a cast of selfish, manipulative, unlikable characters, the worst of whom is our "heroine."  Third, the plot is just weird.  The characters' choices are often illogical and the story gets more absurd as it goes.  So, why did I bother finishing this odd, depressing novel?  Honestly, I don't know!  Apparently, I was invested enough that I wanted to find out how the tale wrapped up.  I can't say this book was at all enjoyable, though.  For me, it was a strange, eye roll-worthy, dissatisfying read that I probably should have DNF'd right from the start.  Lesson learned.

(Readalikes:  Um, no specific titles are coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a few F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, references to illegal drug use, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of The Perfect Wife from the generous folks at Graydon House (a division of HarperCollins) via those at NetGalley.  Thank you!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive