Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)

My Progress:


13 / 51 states. 25% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 52 books. 35% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


21 / 52 books. 40% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


14 / 40 books. 35% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


8 / 40 books. 20% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


13 / 25 books. 52% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 109 books. 20% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Monday, August 12, 2019

Fun, Fantastical Adventure an Engaging Story Even Reluctant Readers Will Enjoy

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Everyone in the village knows the thick forest that looms at the edge of town is full of deep, dark magic.  Tales abound of strange creatures lurking in its depths, just waiting to ensnare too-curious children with their monstrous claws.  The most cynical may think the stories are only that, but even the strangest of cautionary yarns are often based in truth ...

What the townspeople don't realize is that the Wild Wood is losing its magic.  Almost thirteen years ago, a goblin named Kull was tasked with performing an ancient ritual that would restore the balance between the magical and non-magical worlds.  He botched the simple task of switching a rare and powerful goblin changeling with a human baby; the changeling so perfectly mimicked his human counterpart that no one has ever been able to tell the difference between the boys.  Whispered rumors have always hinted that one of the twins is not exactly like the other, but in a town that delights in superstitious stories and paranoid rants, what's one more?

When Cole and Tinn Burton receive a puzzling message from Kull begging for their help and beckoning them into the woods, the boys can't resist the promise of adventure.  Unaware that a dark presence is luring them deeper and deeper into danger, the twins revel in meeting colorful forest folk and enjoying the most diverting of quests.  As their journey brings them ever closer to trouble unlike any they've ever known, the boys must work together, harnessing all their courage, to save not just a magical forest but also themselves and everyone they love. 

Changeling, the first book in a new fantasy series by William Ritter, offers kids a fun read that's exciting but not too scary.  It features a pair of delightful heroes, as well as a supporting cast of intriguing story "people" to keep the tale interesting.  Through it all, the book teaches important lessons about loyalty, love, and belonging.  Even reluctant readers should dig this engaging, enjoyable adventure.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little of the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scary scenes/scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Changeling from the generous folks at Algonquin in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive