Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Lucky Number Thirteen

(Image from author's blog)

For the 13th day of December, the good folks at Quirk Books asked me to post about a fun new book they just published.  If you've got a young book lover on your Christmas list, you're definitely going to want to pay attention to this review!  

Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye by Tania Del Rio is the first in a middle grade series featuring the titular character.  Our hero is the 13th in a long line of Warrens, all of whom have been responsible for the care of the family hotel.  After the untimely death of his father, Warren the 13th became the newest owner; at only 12, however, he's not yet old enough to assume command of its operations.  Under the temporary direction of Warren's lazy Uncle Rupert, the Warren Hotel has become a derelict edifice, empty of guests for the last five years.  Dutiful Warren, who serves as the hotel's only bellhop/handyman/housekeeper/general errand boy, spends his days cleaning, repairing, and taking care of his inheritance as best he can.  Despite the cruelty Rupert's wife, Annaconda, inflicts on Warren, he remains cheerful, positive, and dedicated to his job.

When a mysterious guest checks into the hotel, Warren is shocked.  And intrigued.  Something strange is definitely going on.  With more guests arriving and Aunt Annaconda muttering about the All-Seeing Eye, it quickly becomes apparent that people are searching The Warren Hotel for its fabled treasure.  If Annaconda finds it first, Warren knows, nothing will be safe—not his beloved home, not his few (but loyal) friends, and certainly not himself.  In a frantic race for the hidden prize, Warren will encounter everything from witches to pirates to a monster in the boiler room.  With so many obstacles in his way, how will Warren beat Annaconda at her own game?  It's a perilous quest, but one our brave hero must undertake in order to save the people and the hotel he loves.

Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye is a clever, quirky book that tells a tale full of adventure, magic, and charm.  Eye-catching illustrations (by Will Staehle), all done in black, white, and red give the story extra appeal as do the puzzles, secret messages, and playful text boxes scattered throughout the book.  These extras make an already well-written story even more engrossing.  With all these elements working in seamless tandem, Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye makes for an entertaining, enjoyable reading experience that will enchant readers of all ages.  It bespelled me quite thoroughly, thank you very much.  I can't wait to see what Warren the 13th gets up to next!

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little of Escape From Mr. Lemoncello's Library by Chris Grabenstein)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye from the generous folks at Quirk Books.  Thank you!

TTT: Looking Forward to 2017


I haven't done one of these since September, so I figured I should jump back into the fray for the month of December.  There are some great topics coming up this month—I couldn't resist!  Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly meme and you should definitely join in.  Just click on over to The Broke and the Bookish to see what it's all about.  

One of my favorite things about a new year is checking out all the sparkly books it will be bringing us.  Here are ten on which I have my eye:  

Top Ten Books I'm Looking Forward to in the First Half of 2017 


1.  Returned by Kimberley Griffiths Little—I'm excited to see what happens in the finale of this YA Mesopotamian adventure/romance series.  I enjoy everything KGL writes, so this one is naturally at the top of my list.  Available February 7, 2017


2.  Caraval by Stephanie Garber—This YA novel sounds like an intriguing blend of adventure, magic, and romance.  What's not to love?  Available January 31, 2017.


3.  Wintersong by S. Jae Jones—This Phantom of the Opera-ish story sounds magical.  I want.  Available February 7, 2017.


4.  Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves—This YA novel about a girl who is Barren in a world of magic has intrigued me ever since I first heard about it.  Available March 28, 2017.

5.  In Farleigh Field by Rhys Brown—I received an ARC of this WWII novel the other day and can't wait to delve into it.  Available March 1, 2017.


6.  Follow Me Down by Sherri Smith—You all know I love me a good psychological thriller.  This one, about a woman who returns to her North Dakota hometown after her twin brother goes missing, sounds compelling.  Available March 21, 2017.


7.  Into the Water by Paula Hawkins—I enjoyed The Girl on the Train, so I've been anxious to see what Hawkins will do next.  I'm not sure what her newest is about, but that doesn't matter.  I'll read it no matter what.  Available May 2, 2017.


8.  One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus—YA mystery/thrillers are not exactly plentiful, so I get excited when I hear about one that sounds good.  In this one, five kids walk into detention, but only four come out.  How did Simon die?  And why?  Available May 30, 2017.


9.  Proof of Lies by Diana Rodriguez Wallach—Another YA mystery, this one is about a teen who's trying to solve the mystery of her sister's disappearance.  Available March 7, 2017.


10.  Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor—This YA novel, about a boy in search of a mythical lost city, sounds exciting and mysterious.  Available March 28, 2017.

What do you think?  Do any of these appeal to you?  What are you looking forward to reading in the first half of 2017?  I'd love to know.  Comment on this post and I'll happily return the favor.

Happy Top Ten Tuesday! 
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive