Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Monday, November 23, 2015

Cute He Said/She Said Novel a Delightful Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

From the moment he met Juli Baker in second grade, Bryce Loski has done his best to ignore her.  Which isn't easy considering she lives across the street from him.  Her obvious, annoying infatuation with him has driven him bonkers for years.  Even now, in eighth grade, her obnoxious enthusiasm—for him, for her chickens, for everything—sets his teeth on edge.  Will the embarrassing little brat ever take the hint and just leave him alone?

Juli flipped the first time she met Bryce.  Just flipped right out.  She's longed for him ever since he moved into her neighborhood, but try as she might, she can't seem to get him to really see her.  These days, she's learned to hide her feelings.  Sort of.  Juli still likes Bryce, but the thing is, she's starting to see him in a new light.  And the things she's seeing, well, they're not great.  Is he really as wonderful as she's always thought?  Or have her feelings finally flipped right back?

Just as Juli's starting to see Bryce differently, the same thing is happening to him.  The irritation he's always felt toward Juli is starting to swing alarmingly toward interest, even attraction.  Why does he suddenly wonder what she's thinking?  Why does he now care if he's hurt her feelings?  Has he gone crazy?  Is he flipping out or is he—finally—growing up a little?  

What will happen as Bryce and Juli see the truth about each other for the first time?  With their feelings flip-flopping all over the place, can they find their way to friendship, maybe something even more?  Or will knowing the truth about themselves and each other end things between them, once and for all?

With its upbeat he said/she said format, Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen is a cute, enjoyable read.  Both its narrators are believable, appealing and root-worthy.  Although the story is definitely on the lighter side, Flipped is not without depth.  In fact, it teaches some excellent lessons about looking beyond surface appearances, showing people you care, and looking for truth, even when it's painful to accept.  A funny, uplifting read, Flipped is definitely worth a read.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me a little of Rachel Spinelli Punched Me in the Face by Paul Acampora)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs)

To the FTC, with love:  I borrowed a copy of Flipped from my daughter's bookshelf.  Thanks, babe!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive