Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)

My Progress:


10 / 51 states. 20% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


12 / 50 books. 24% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


14 / 52 books. 27% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


17 / 52 books. 33% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 40 books. 28% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


7 / 40 books. 18% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


12 / 25 books. 48% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


17 / 109 books. 16% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Lyrical Southern Novel Atmospheric and Powerfully Rendered

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Adelaide Lyle doesn't go inside the church anymore.  The only reason she comes anywhere near the building is for the children.  Kids should not be anywhere close to the River Road Church of Christ in Signs Following or its dangerous pastor.  It's up to the 81-year-old midwife to steer them away, to keep them safe.  Their parents might believe in Pastor Chambliss' poison-drinking, snake-handling brand of faith, but that doesn't mean the children should be in harm's way.

Despite Adelaide's watchful eye, a mute, autistic teenager dies during church services.  Although the pastor claims the boy's death was an accident, Adelaide doesn't believe it.  Not for a minute.  Strange, sinister things follow Carson Chambliss wherever he goes.  What really happened inside the church?  Why is an innocent boy dead?  

A Land More Kind Than Home, a debut novel by Wiley Cash, tells the story of a tragic death and the ways in which it rocks a small North Carolina town.  Atmospheric and powerfully rendered, it hits on important subjects—faith vs. fanaticism, revenge vs. redemption, and remorse vs. regret.  It's an undeniably sad novel, but a compelling one nonetheless. The story has stuck with me, even though it's been months since I read it.  If you enjoy rich, thought-provoking Southern fiction, you won't want to miss this one.

(Readalikes: Reminded me a little of The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (1 F-bomb, plus milder expletives), violence, blood/gore, and mild sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive