Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)

My Progress:


12 / 51 states. 24% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 52 books. 31% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 52 books. 35% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


7 / 40 books. 18% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


12 / 25 books. 48% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 109 books. 18% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Thursday, May 09, 2019

Miranda's Newest Another Twisty, Engrossing Thriller

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

In picturesque Littleport, Maine, there are two kinds of people—wealthy summer visitors and the locals who inhabit the resort town year-round.  With the livelihood of the latter dependent on the former, there's a natural divide between the two groups.  Their members simply don't mix.  That's why Littleport resident Avery Greer was so surprised when rich, sophisticated Sadie Loman befriended her ten years ago.  Having grown closer to Sadie with every passing summer, Avery is horrified when she learns that her friend's body has washed up on the shore.  With an apparent suicide note in their possession, the cops declare that Sadie stepped off a steep cliff of her own volition.  Case closed.  Avery's not the only one who doesn't believe bold, unapologetic Sadie would take her own life; she's also not the only one some people in town consider a suspect in the woman's death.  

Sure that someone (or multiple someones) knows more than they're admitting, Avery launches her own search for the truth about Sadie's death.  The deeper she digs, the more dirt she uncovers.  It soon becomes obvious that Avery's revealing secrets someone would kill to keep buried.  Can she find out the truth before it's her dead body that washes ashore?

I'm sure you've noticed by now that I love me a tense psychological thriller, especially one that's set in a cozy little town that's hiding big, juicy secrets.  The Last House Guest (available June 18, 2019), the newest suspense novel from Megan Miranda, delivers on all fronts.  The setting is atmospheric, the plot compelling, and the mystery twisty.  Just the way I like it.  Yes, the book is depressing as all get-out, but it's also an engrossing read that kept me totally riveted.  I've enjoyed all of Miranda's books and this one is no exception.  If you're looking for an absorbing summer thriller, look no further.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I should be able to think of lots of titles, but nothing's coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a dozen or so F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of The Last House Guest from the generous folks at Simon & Schuster via those at Edelweiss.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive