Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (2)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!
Thursday, October 17, 2019

Despite Unique Format, Lippman's Newest Just an Average Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

After separating from her husband of almost 20 years, Madeline "Maddie" Schwartz longs to live the exciting, meaningful existence she's been missing out on for two decades.  When she hears about a body found in a park fountain, she knows she's stumbled upon a story that could be her ticket to being taken seriously in the world of investigative journalism.  No one but Maddie seems to care about the dead woman; the more she digs for answers, the more obsessed she becomes with finding the truth.

The dead woman's ghost (who is observing Maddie's investigation) just wants to be left alone.  But why?  What happened to her?  Who stole her life and set her restless spirit wandering?

Lady in the Lake by Laura Lippman uses a unique, interesting format to tell an otherwise ordinary story.  It works, making the tale more compelling than it would have been.  In fact, it may be the saving grace for this novel, which features two unlikeable "heroines" who are both selfish and manipulative.  It's tough to care too much about either one of them.  In addition, Lady in the Lake is grim and depressing.  All in all, then, it was another average read for me.  I definitely didn't love it, but I liked it well enough to finish the book.

(Readalikes:  I'm tired and nothing is coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (1 F-bomb, plus milder expletives), violence, and some sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Lady in the Lake from the generous folks at William Morrow (an imprint of HarperCollins) in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive