Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


8 / 30 books. 27% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (1)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


12 / 51 states. 24% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 50 books. 18% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 50 books. 56% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 52 books. 46% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 40 books. 50% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


14 / 26.2 miles. 53% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 100 books. 13% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 104 books. 29% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 52 books. 54% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


28 / 165 books. 17% done!
Wednesday, September 02, 2020

Newest Bolton Thriller Sweeps Me Clean Away

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Felicity "Flick" Lloyd is a 28-year-old glaciologist happily ensconced on the remote Antarctic island of South Georgia.  When the last boat of the season leaves, she always breathes a sigh of relief.  She's safe—at least temporarily—from her murderous ex-husband.

Flick isn't as secure as she thinks.  Unbeknownst to her, a man disembarked from the boat and now he's searching for her with dogged determination.  Despite the hostile landscape, he is closing in on Flick.  How will she survive alone in the empty, treacherous wilderness with worsening weather and a target on her back?

The Split, the newest thriller from Sharon Bolton, revolves around a simple premise.  Too simple.  It's Bolton, the queen of I-didn't-see-that-coming plot twists, so you know there's more to this tale than meets the eye!  I've read all of Bolton's books, so I wasn't blindsided by every swerve in the story, but The Split still kept me guessing and speeding through the pages.  I read the book in almost one sitting because I literally could not look away from it.  From its unique, chilling setting to its complex, intriguing characters to its tense, propulsive plot, this novel just plain swept me away.  It may, in fact, have unseated Little Black Lies as my favorite Bolton book.  Needless to say, I loved it.

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, disturbing subject matter, and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Split from the generous folks at Minotaur Books (a division of St. Martin's Publishing Group/Macmillan) in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!
Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive